Doré Northern Soul Various Artists (Dore)


Northern Soul
Catalogue Id:
KENT 506

You have to really search through the Doré catalogue to find the soul 45s, but when you do it is hugely rewarding. Its jewels have only been revealed to Northern Soul collectors over time and several are ridiculously scarce; Little Johnny Hamilton’s ‘Keep On Movin’’ and the Swans’ ‘Nitty Gritty City’ remain one-off disc discoveries. Guaranteed dancefloor classics abound, including Rita & the Tiaras’ ‘Gone With The Wind Is My Love’, Little Johnny Hamilton’s ‘Oh How I Love You’ and the Puffs’ ‘I Only Cry Once A Day Now’.
The Superbs’ ‘Wind In My Sails’ and Milton James’ mesmeric ‘My Lonely Feeling’ represent the funkier end of the Northern Soul sound, while tracks by Ray Marchand and the Shades Of Jade are subtle mid-tempo soul of the highest quality. Nearly all are rare, expensive and beautiful, while Kenard’s ‘What Did You Gain By That’ is highly imaginative, and the Fidels’ ‘I’m Givin’ You Notice Baby’ is just a classic 60s soul stomper.
All together on beautiful 12-inch vinyl, they are irresistible.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Gone With The Wind Is My Love - Rita & The Tiaras

  • 02 Preview I'm Givin' You Notice Baby - The Fidels

  • 03 Preview Oh How I Love You - Little Johnny Hamilton & The Creators

  • 04 Preview What Did You Gain By That? - Kenard

  • 05 Preview Your Ship Of Fools - Ray Marchand

  • 06 Preview Wind In My Sails - The Superbs

  • 07 Preview My Lonely Feeling - Milton James

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Gettin' Back Into Circulation - The Entertainers IV

  • 02 Preview I Wanna Do It With You Baby - The Superbs

  • 03 Preview Do The Skin - Kenard Gardner

  • 04 Preview I Only Cry Once A Day Now - The Puffs

  • 05 Preview Nitty Gritty City - The Swans

  • 06 Preview Why Does It Feel So Right (Doing Wrong) - The Shades Of Jade

  • 07 Preview Keep On Moving - Little Johnny Hamilton

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought