Bob Holmes' Nashville Soul Various Artists (States & Regions)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

With the publication of E. Mark Windle’s book House Of Broken Hearts about the 60s soul of Nashville, that city’s black music is being studied in detail for the first time since Kent issued the CDs “Music City Soul” and “Uptown Down South” in the late 90s.

 We have coordinated a “Nashville Soul” CD release with the book, concentrating on the work of multi-talented producer/arranger/songwriter Bob Holmes from the 1965 to 1980 time span. Considering the number of tracks he was involved with on this and the previous CDs, Holmes can be described as Nashville’s premier soul provider.
Since we accessed the Ted Jarrett and Excello tapes for those earlier compilations, more music has emerged from Holmes’ vault and elsewhere. The Hytones are the most prolific of the acts, with their superb harmony song ‘Runaway Girl’ only previously available on a Kent/100 Club promo CD. We also feature their rare deep soul Abet release ‘I’ve Got My Baby’ and a great previously unheard group duet with the Avons called ‘Ooh Gilly Baby’, dedicated to a local DJ . The Avons also provide their rare Abet 45 ‘Got To Get Used To You’ which, like most of these songs, is debuting on CD. Sandra King’s ‘Leave It Up To The Boys’ is an expensive record to find and shows how Holmes was stylistically influenced more by New York and Detroit than Memphis. Freddie North’s beautiful big beat ballad ‘Don’t Let Me Look So Bad’ could have been cut at Scepter, and the Paramount Four’s stunning ‘You Must Leave Her Because You Love Her’ is similarly polished.
Holmes worked extensively with R&B producer Ted Jarrett and they combined with great Nashville singers such as Gene Allison, Roscoe Shelton and Freddie Waters to make superb late 60s soul with a strong funk feel. Holmes even wrote and produced a blues hit on veteran Slim Harpo with ‘Tip On In’. By the 70s his expertise was appreciated by other companies and he arranged Joe Tex’s hit dance track ‘Under Your Powerful Love’ for Dial as well as Bill Brandon’s modern soul classic ‘The Streets Got My Lady’ for Piedmont. Holmes could deliver the authentic southern sound as well with Jimmy Church’s ‘Right In The Palm Of Your Hand’ on his Southern Artists label and a beautiful unfinished version of ‘Crying Won’t Help You Now’ by Johnny Truitt for Excello. The Golden Bond’s ‘I Know It’s All Over’ is a superb harmony single on DeLuxe, Roger Hatcher’s Volt 45 ‘I Dedicate My Life To You’ demonstrates great musical sensitivity and Ruthie’s smooth ‘Let’s Try Love Again’ from 1980 is evidence that Holmes could move with the times.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Runaway Girl - The Hytones

  • 02 Leave It Up To The Boys - Sandra King

  • 03 Got To Get Used To You - The Avons

  • 04 Sweet Way Of Living - Peggy Gaines

  • 05 I Dedicate My Life To You - Roger Hatcher

  • 06 You Must Leave Her Because You Love Her - The Paramount Four

  • 07 Don't Make Me Look So Bad - Freddie North

  • 08 You Never Had It So Good - Eddie Frierson

  • 09 Girl Watching On Broadway - Little Rock Brotherhood

  • 10 The Streets Got My Lady - Bill Brandon

  • 11 Under Your Powerful Love - Joe Tex

  • 12 Somebody Somewhere - Gene Allison

  • 13 Grooviest Thing This Side Of Heaven - Wendell Watts

  • 14 Tip On In Pt 1 - Slim Harpo

  • 15 I Can't Love Nobody But You - Roscoe Shelton

  • 16 Don't Let It Get You Down, Boy - Freddie Waters

  • 17 Say Boy - The Tydes

  • 18 Oo Gilly Baby - The Avons and The Hytones

  • 19 I've Got My Baby - The Hytones

  • 20 Crying Won't Help You Now - Johnny Truitt

  • 21 Right In The Palm Of Your Hand - Jimmy Church

  • 22 I Know (It's All Over) - The Golden Bond

  • 23 Steady - Eddie & Freddie

  • 24 Let's Try Love Again - Ruthie

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought