Northern Soul's Classiest Rarities Volume 6 Various Artists (Northern Souls Classiest Rarities)


Northern Soul
Catalogue Id:

It’s nearly three years since we released the last volume in this respected series; here’s another package full of ultra-rarities, collector’s pieces, unissued gems and classic dancers.
The eye-opener will be the previously unissued version of ‘I Only Cry Once A Day Now’, a superb Gene Page arrangement known and treasured as being by the Puffs but performed here by the mighty Fidels. Fellow Los Angeles vocal group the Hyperions contribute the intensely catchy and exciting ‘Why Do You Wanna Treat Me Like You Do’, while the very rare single ‘Dream Girl’ by the Lon Genes gives further kudos to that city’s soul reputation. Difosco aka Dee Ervin recorded the ebullient ‘Sunshine Love’ for another Los Angeles imprint, Earthquake, and its standing among collectors continues to grow. Here we finally put out the correct brass-filled version of Peggy Woods’ great Modern Records tape – not properly heard since its mid-80s discovery.
That much-travelled ambassador of soul, Sidney Barnes, has licensed us not only his early super-rare NYC song and production on Little Nicky Soul, ‘I Wanted To Tell You’, but also two of his later “under the radar” creations on Andre Scott and Jean Carter. Sid’s Detroit production partner and later superstar George Clinton has one of his earliest works from his New Jersey days, Tamala Lewis’ ‘You Won’t Say Nothing’, an established Northern Soul classic in Jackie Day’s ‘Naughty Boy’, Johnnie Taylor’s ‘Friday Night’ and Betty Turner’s ‘The Winds Kept Laughing’. An even more established “oldie” is given an interesting new twist with an earlier session of Maxine Brown’s ‘One In A Million’, a precursor to the released version that is so loved; the subtle differences make it an aural thrill.
Jack Ashford’s Just Productions tapes have turned up an earlier version of his ‘Fly To My Loving Arms’, simply called ‘I Can Fly’. The great male vocal group sound of the Magnificents are first rate on this fabulous song. A Detroit Emeralds LP-only track called ‘Long Live The King’ has found favour with soul fans recently and sounds vibrant here. The distinctive vocals of O.C. Tolbert give Dave Hamilton’s ‘Marriage Is Only A State Of Mind’ a soulful twist on a recent tape discovery, and a pretty Carla Thomas recording (unreleased until 1992) called ‘Little Boy’ is the perfect ender to this collection of treasures.

There are two majestic big beat ballads from Jack Nitzsche’s Los Angeles vaults. The Nooney Ricket track is unissued and the terrific Daniel A Stone take on ‘Young Boy Blues’ has only been heard on an Ace CD before. Jock Mitchell’s moody and mysterious ‘Nomad Woman’ fits snugly between the pair. Finally, we have two excellent early Chicago soul rarities from the Vows and the Kittens who were stalwarts of that soulful city.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Love Is Gonna Get You (Brass version) - Peggy Woods

  • 02 You Won't Say Nothing - Tamala Lewis

  • 03 I Only Cry Once A Day Now - The Fidels

  • 04 Friday Night - Johnnie Taylor

  • 05 I Got To Tell Somebody - Betty Everett

  • 06 I Can Fly - The Magnificents

  • 07 Why You Wanna Treat Me Like You Do - The Hyperions

  • 08 Sunshine Love - Difosco

  • 09 I Wanted To Tell You - Little Nicky Soul

  • 10 Young Boy Blues - Daniel A Stone

  • 11 Nomad Woman - Jock Mitchell with The Fabulous Agents

  • 12 Sad Tomorrows - Nooney Rickett

  • 13 Wait A Minute (You're Getting Careless With My Heart) - The Kittens

  • 14 One In A Million (Alt take) - Maxine Brown

  • 15 Naughty Boy - Jackie Day

  • 16 The Winds Kept Laughing - Betty Turner

  • 17 Lost In A City - The Vows

  • 18 Poor Unfortunate Me (I Ain't Got Nobody) - J.J. Barnes

  • 19 Cry In The Arms Of Another Love - Andre Scott with Jessie, Otis & Shotgun

  • 20 Long Live The King - The Detroit Emeralds

  • 21 Love Hangover - Jean Carter

  • 22 (Marriage Is Only) A State Of Mind - O.C. Tolbert

  • 23 Dream Girl - The Lon-Genes

  • 24 Little Boy - Carla Thomas

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought