Rockin' In The USA - Hot 100 Hits Of The 80s Various Artists (Rockin in the USA)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1526

The 1980s were probably the last real decade for the pop single. It was certainly the last one in which every record that made the Hot 100 was an actual vinyl single. Radio was still breaking big hits and new artists, rather than TV talent shows and the still-nascent Internet. And people still rushed to their local record store to buy what their local station was playing, rather than streaming or downloading it.
Having successfully anthologised the American charts of the 50s, 60s and 70s over a long period of time, Ace is delighted this month to premiere “Rockin’ In The USA”, its first anthology of 1980s US Hot 100 hits.
80s radio made hits for a lot of new names. As had been the case in earlier eras, many of them are still around 30 to almost 40 years later, while the careers of others virtually began and ended with their lone hit. Our earlier series have always embraced both the renowned and the obscure, and this is no different. 
Here are almost two dozen of the finest US hits of that decade, all presented as they were originally heard coming over FM Pop radio right across America. Many were also UK hits, and all of them should have been. Some of the best pop and rock of the 80s you will ever hear on the same CD is present on “Rockin’ In The USA”. We are sure it will prove to be as popular as its sister series “The Golden Age Of American Rock’n’Roll”, “Chartbusters USA” and “The Hit List”.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview What I Like About You - The Romantics

  • 02 Preview Time After Time - Cyndi Lauper

  • 03 Preview Hope You Love Me Like You Say You Do - Huey Lewis & The News

  • 04 Preview Your Love - The Outfield

  • 05 Preview I'm Happy That Love Has Found You - Jimmy Hall

  • 06 Preview Someday Someway - Marshall Crenshaw

  • 07 Preview Goin' Down - Greg Guidry

  • 08 Preview Hit Me With Your Best Shot - Pat Benatar

  • 09 Preview I Need You - Paul Carrack

  • 10 Preview How Do I Survive - Amy Holland

  • 11 Preview Our Lips Are Sealed - The Go-Gos

  • 12 Preview I've Done Everything For You - Rick Springfield

  • 13 Preview Breaking Away - Balance

  • 14 Preview 10-9-8 - Face To Face

  • 16 Preview Say It Isn't So - Daryl Hall and John Oates

  • 17 Preview Personally - Karla Bonoff

  • 18 Preview Is It Love - Mr. Mister

  • 19 Preview You Might Think - The Cars

  • 20 Preview (There's) No Gettin' Over Me - Ronnie Milsap

  • 21 Preview Walking Down Your Street - The Bangles

  • 22 Preview Baby I Lied - Deborah Allen

  • 23 Preview The Valley Road - Bruce Hornsby and the Range

  • 24 R.O.C.K. in the U.S.A. - John Cougar Mellencamp

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Customers who bought this item also bought