Sounds Of The Unexpected Various Artists (Fun Time)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1505

Sadly, our good friend and colleague Vicki Fox died in 2016. As a teenager she’d worked at Rock On before becoming involved with Ace, where her skill at photographic restoration enhanced so many of our releases. A gifted artist and a passionate music fan, Vicki’s joie de vivre and live-wire personality enriched everything she undertook.

Vicki also compiled several releases herself. Her love of cats was immortalised in “Feline Groovy” (CDCHD 1168), a CD which launched a thousand T-shirts. This was followed by “All Aboard” (CDCHD 1450), a highly eclectic collection of train songs.

No less eclectic, Vicki’s latest, and last, compilation draws upon another of her passions – the wild and wacky instrumental. Casting her net wide from MOR to Reggae, Rockabilly to R&B “Sounds Unexpected” celebrates the unusual, the groovy and the downright bonkers with 24 of her favourite cuts. With recordings by André Brasseur, the Tornados, Travis Wammack, Martin Denny and the Upsetters, the result is never less than intriguing and entertaining.

Echoing her own inclusive nature, two dozen of Vicki’s friends and work colleagues contribute to the sleeve notes. 

Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Watusi Zombie - Jan Davis

  • 02 Preview Savage Girl - Felix & His Fabulous Cats

  • 03 Preview Mad Train - Andre Brasseur & His Multi-Sound Organ

  • 04 Preview War Of The Worlds - The Atlantics

  • 05 Preview Funky Me - Timmy Thomas

  • 06 Preview Caravan - Gabor Szabo

  • 07 Preview Hot Pot - The Tornados

  • 08 Preview Aztec - Bo Diddley

  • 09 Preview R.F.D. Rangoon - The Forbidden Five

  • 10 Preview Watusie Freeze Pt 1 - Big Walter & the Thunderbirds

  • 11 Preview Flameout - The 101 Strings

  • 12 Preview Music To Watch Space Girls By - Leonard Nimoy

  • 13 Preview Uh-Oh - The Imps

  • 14 Preview Waltz In Orbit - Ray Cathode

  • 15 Preview Moog Indigo - Jean Jacques Perrey

  • 16 Preview Space Walk - The Astros

  • 17 Preview Hung Over - The Martinis

  • 18 Preview The Sheik - Ray Ellis & His Orchestra

  • 19 Preview B'wana Bongos - Preston Epps

  • 20 Preview Long Sentence - The Upsetters

  • 21 Preview It's Karate Time - Travis Wammack

  • 22 Preview Zocko - The Ventures

  • 23 Preview Misirlou - Martin Denny

  • 24 Preview Russian Roulette - The Zanies

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought