Doré Northern Soul Various Artists (Dore)


Northern Soul
Catalogue Id:
KENT 506

This product is also available in these versions:
Doré Northern Soul (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

Slick West Coast uptempo soul music for dancers ONLY. 12-inch vinyl LP.

Known primarily as the label of soul groups the Superbs, Whispers and Entertainers IV, it has taken at least 40 years for Dore’s fluttering feather on the light blue background to reveal its full Northern Soul content. The Entertainers IV’s ‘Gettin’ Back Into Circulation’ was soon noticed, as it shared the same backing as the Whispers’ original of ‘Doctor Love’. Kenard Gardner was Lew Bedell’s right-hand soul man and his ‘Do The Skin’ also crossed theAtlanticin the 70s; the raucous dance-craze oozed soul and sported an irrepressible beat. Then came the Northern Soul behemoth – Rita & the Tiaras’ ‘Gone With The Wind Is My Love’. Released in 1967 in very small numbers, it took a decade to be discovered by the rare soul scene. It grew from a Wigan Casino floor-filler into a byword for all that is best in uptempo US soul. Plaintive vocals, atmospheric, imaginative production, a relentless beat and a melody and lyric like no other.

By the early 70s, the Fidels already had the classic stomper ‘Try A Little Harder’ under their belt, so it was no surprise when ‘I’m Givin’ You Notice Baby’ turned out to be a sassy 60s mover. The Superbs had around 30 releases on the label, mainly beautiful ballads, but hiding in the middle was the great uptempo dancer ‘I Wanna Do It With You Baby’. Their early 70s release ‘Wind In My Sails’ has found favour among funk-edged dance fans in recent years. Little Johnny Hamilton made his name on the scene with ‘Oh How I Love You’. Hamilton was part of the Creators group who wrote and played on this; many of the members would go on to become stars in the band War.

Come the early 80s, Wigan Casino had closed and up-and-coming DJs had to scour record lists, junk shops and flea markets all the harder as the supply of new titles faltered. The sounds sometimes veered away from the norm, and mid-tempo rarities such as Ray Marchand’s ‘Your Ship Of Fools’ went big at the Stafford all-nighter. Kenard Gardner returned to the dancefloor without his surname for the quirky social comment of ‘What Did You Gain By That?’. The Puffs’ soulful update of an old Lew Bedell torch song ‘I Only Cry Once A Day Now’ benefited from a great Gene Page arrangement and a solid uptempo beat.

Then came the super-rarities. Milton James’ ‘My Lonely Feeling’ was out of left field but catchy as hell – dynamite on the dancefloor of a dark, sweltering nightclub. Little did we know James was part of that soon-to-be War entourage; the Creators had his back. They were also on another even rarer discovery – Little Johnny Hamilton was back with ‘Keep On Movin’’, a mid-tempo beauty in that slick Chicago style. LA maestro Miles Grayson arranged the music for the Swans’ ‘Nitty Gritty City’, which like the later Little Johnny Hamilton release exists on only one known copy: quality and lack of quantity – the perfect mix.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Gone With The Wind Is My Love - Rita & The Tiaras

  • 02 Preview I'm Givin' You Notice Baby - The Fidels

  • 03 Preview Oh How I Love You - Little Johnny Hamilton & The Creators

  • 04 Preview What Did You Gain By That? - Kenard

  • 05 Preview Your Ship Of Fools - Ray Marchand

  • 06 Preview Wind In My Sails - The Superbs

  • 07 Preview My Lonely Feeling - Milton James & The Creators

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Gettin' Back Into Circulation - The Entertainers IV

  • 02 Preview I Wanna Do It With You Baby - The Superbs

  • 03 Preview Do The Skin - Kenard Gardner

  • 04 Preview I Only Cry Once A Day Now - The Puffs

  • 05 Preview Nitty Gritty City - The Swans

  • 06 Preview Why Does It Feel So Right (Doing Wrong) - The Shades Of Jade

  • 07 Preview Keep On Moving - Little Johnny Hamilton

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought