Beat Girls Español! 1960s She-Pop From Spain Various Artists (Beat Girls)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Beat Girls Español! 1960s She-Pop From Spain, CD (£14.11)

The feminine side of Spanish pop, including some great 1960s examples of the “Torrelaguna sound”.

Having already put out collections spotlighting the girl singers of 1960s Japan, France, Italy and Sweden, we now turn our attention to sunny Spain. The influence of hit records from the USA and the UK in the early 60s resulted in a musical style the French called yé-yé. Spain also adopted the term to describe this new type of beat-oriented pop, while maintaining its own musical identity via sexy rhythms and an underlying current of drama and flamenco.

The aptly named Hispavox was considered the most important Spanish record label, mainly because they had a talented team of producers, arrangers and studio musicians who between them created the “Torrelaguna sound”. Furthermore, they had Karina, who was known as the queen of Spanish yé-yé with her angelic looks and voice, and Las Chic, one of the few girl groups on the Spanish recording scene. Zafiro entered the market with a series of young female vocalists, including Adriángela and the dynamic Marisol, a child actress turned pop star who spent much of the 60s on the silver screen. The Belter label also recorded many girl singers, among them screen siren Soledad Miranda – star of several horror films – and Sonia, who recorded a feminine rendition of the Rolling Stones’ ‘Get Off Of My Cloud’. Other noteworthy artists include Rocío Dúrcal, who achieved international fame as an actress and a singer, Gelu, who rather specialised in covering Petula Clark hits, and Massiel, who differed from most of her peers by writing many of her own songs.

All of these and more are featured here in this compilation of predominantly uptempo recordings by the choicest female artists active in 1960sSpain. The collection is available in 14-track LP and 24-track CD formats. The LP version is pressed on 180g white vinyl and packaged in a heavy-duty sleeve with an inner bag featuring a 3500-word note and copious colour illustrations. The CD edition comes with a bumper 24-page booklet containing expanded notes and extra illustrations.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Corazón Contento  - Marisol

  • 02 Preview Creo En Ti - Rocío Dúrcal

  • 03 Preview Ya Verás - Karina

  • 04 Preview Pinta Mi Mundo (Colour My World) - Gelu

  • 05 Preview Molino Al Viento (Mulino A Vento) - Los Stop

  • 06 Preview Aquí En Mi Nube (Get Off Of My Cloud) - Sonia

  • 07 Preview Si Llegara El Amor (Are You Ready For Love) - Rosalia

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Nunca Hay Bastante (Non Basta Mai) - Adriángela

  • 02 Preview No Sé Por Qué - Massiel

  • 03 Preview Prima O Poi - Silvana Velasco

  • 04 Preview Tendrás Que Llorar - Lorella

  • 05 Preview La Verdad (La Veritá) - Soledad Miranda

  • 06 Preview Voy A Pintar Las Paredes Con Tu Nombre - Los Mismos

  • 07 Preview Pon Un Anillo En Mi Dedo (Put A Ring On My Finger) - Las Chic

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought