Ain't It The Truth - The Ric And Ron Story Volume 2 Various Artists (Ric & Ron)


Rhythm & Blues
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1416

You will hopefully have noticed that, of late, Ace has reinforced its commitment to the kind of music on which our catalogue was founded. My fellow compilers’ vault raids in South Louisiana have brought the excellent “…By The Bayou” series to life, and that series is now being complemented by compilations drawn from New Orleans’ Ric and Ron labels.

In four years of active existence, Ric and Ron chronicled the changes in Crescent City R&B as it evolved into soul. Label boss Joe Ruffino’s roster was populated by top-tier talent – including several artists who are now regarded as legends. He employed only the best A&R men and musicians, and recorded at Cosimo Matassa’s revered studio for the authentic local sound. It’s somewhat surprising the labels produced so few national hits, but Ric and Ron records were often much bigger sellers in the southern states than many which did chart nationally.

“Ain’t It The Truth! The Ric & Ron Story Volume 2” takes up from where the first volume left off at the end of 1960, and follows through to early 1963, shortly after Ruffino’s death. All the labels’ biggest artists of the period are featured, including Tommy Ridgley, Eddie Bo and Johnny Adams, along with a selection of rare demos that make their CD debuts.

Some of the greatest New Orleans jukebox hits of the period are featured, including Johnny Adams’ ‘A Losing Battle’, Tommy Ridgley’s ‘Should I Ever Love Again’ and Eddie Bo’s ‘Check Mr Popeye’, along with titles by Warren Lee and Jimmy “Skip” Easterling, future mainstays of the area’s soul scene. Almost all tracks are mastered from fresh transfers of the original Ric and Ron tapes. You will never have heard them sounding as good as they do here. 

By Tony Rounce 


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Send Me Your Picture - Bobby Mitchell

  • 02 Preview Life Is Just A Struggle - Johnny Adams

  • 03 Preview Should I Ever Love Again - Tommy Ridgley

  • 04 Preview I Don't Talk Too Much - Martha Nelson

  • 05 Preview Ain't It The Truth Now - Eddie Bo

  • 06 Preview The Bells Are Ringing - Johnny Adams

  • 07 Preview In The Same Old Way - Tommy Ridgley

  • 08 Preview Mama Don't Allow - Bobby Mitchell

  • 09 Preview The Git Back Pt 1 - Joe "Guitar" Morris

  • 10 Preview You Can If You Think You Can - Martha Carter

  • 11 Preview A Losing Battle - Johnny Adams

  • 12 Preview Unemployed - Warren Lee

  • 13 Preview Then I'll Believe - Martha Carter

  • 14 Preview Check Mr Popeye - Eddie Bo

  • 15 Preview Country Boy - Joe Louis

  • 16 Preview Showdown - Johnny Adams

  • 17 Preview Geneveve - Lenny Capello & The Dots

  • 18 Preview Baby I'm Wise - Eddie Bo

  • 19 Preview Honest I Do - Tommy Ridgley

  • 20 Preview I Guess I Always Will - Jimmy Easterling

  • 21 Preview Found My Good Thing (demo) - Barbara Lynn

  • 22 Preview Question Of Love (demo) - Barbara Lynn

  • 23 Preview Carnival Time (demo) - Al Johnson

  • 24 Preview How Come And Why (demo) - Johnny Adams

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes




Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought