All Turned On! Motown Instrumentals 1960-1972 Various Artists (Motown)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1613

A stellar cast of musicians take the spotlight on this collection of soul, jazz, funk and other groovy Motown instrumentals which features six cuts otherwise available only as digital downloads and five masters previously unissued in any format.

Compiled by the guys behind our popular “Motown Girls” and “Motown Guys” series, the CD opens with three certified crowd-pleasers: the San Remo Golden Strings’ ‘Festival Time’, a Northern Soul favourite that reached the UK charts in 1971, five years after its original release in the USA; a version of the Supremes’ ‘Come See About Me’ by Choker Campbell’s Big Band; and ‘I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch)’ by Earl Van Dyke & the Soul Brothers, an outfit known behind the scenes as the Funk Brothers.

The five previously unissued tracks are Choker Campbell’s brassy stomper ‘The Break Down’; Earl Van Dyke’s organ, vibes and guitar-led ‘L.B.J.’; the jazzy ‘Defunk Brothers’ by saxophonist Frank Morelli; ‘Little Mack’s Shuffle’ by the Morrocco Muzik Makers featuring tasty work from guitarist Harold Williams; and ‘Great Google Mook’, a terrific honker ‘n’ twanger by the Mysterions.

Other highlights include trumpeter Jonah Jones’ funky and almost unrecognisable treatment of Stevie Wonder’s ‘Uptight (Everything’s Alright)’; a great version of Hugh Masekela’s ‘Grazing In The Grass’ by Stevie himself under his Eivets Rednow alias; ‘Ich-I-Bon #1’ by Nick & the Jaguars, a hard-driving rocker from 1960; ‘Double 0 And A Half’ by the Agents, a band that included members of Jr Walker’s All Stars; and ‘Good Rockin’’ by Jr Walker & the All Stars themselves.

As usual with our Motown compilations, the package includes notes and track annotations by Hitsville historian Keith Hughes and photos of many of the featured artists.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Festival Time - The San Remo Golden Strings

  • 02 Preview Come See About Me - Choker Campbell's Big Band

  • 03 Preview I Can't Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch) - Earl Van Dyke & The Soul Brothers

  • 04 Preview True Fine Boy - The Funk Brothers

  • 05 Preview Sweet Soul - Jr Walker & The All Stars

  • 06 Preview Uptight (Everything's Alright) - Jonah Jones

  • 07 Preview Let Me Loose - Stevie Wonder

  • 08 Preview All Turned On - Bob Wilson & The San Remo Quartet

  • 09 Preview The Break Down - Choker Campbell's Big Band

  • 10 Preview Grazing In The Grass - Eivets Rednow

  • 11 Preview Chicken Little 69 - Earl Van Dyke & The Soul Brothers

  • 12 Preview Uptight - Herman Griffin & Band

  • 13 Preview I'mi See You Later - Johnny Griffith Trio

  • 14 Preview L.B.J. - Earl Van Dyke & The Soul Brothers

  • 15 Preview Defunk Brothers - Frank Morelli

  • 16 Preview Get Ready - Jonah Jones

  • 17 Preview Ich-I-Bon #1 - Nick & The Jaguars

  • 18 Preview Double 0 And A Half - The Agents

  • 19 Preview Hot Sausage - The Mysterions

  • 20 Preview Little Mack's Shuffle - Morrocco Muzik Makers

  • 21 Preview Good Rockin' - Jr Walker & The All Stars

  • 22 Preview Great Google Mook - The Mysterions

  • 23 Preview Soul Line - The Agents

  • 24 Preview Papa Hooper's Barrelhouse Groove - The Crusaders

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought