American Tunes - Songs By Paul Simon Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1552

Ace’s Songwriters series continues to be one of our most popular, with plenty of worthy candidates for inclusion waiting in the wings to join those we have already featured.

This month we spotlight the work of a man whose songs and records have been enjoyed across seven decades. Paul Simon’s compelling songs have been subject to covers since the mid-60s, when he and his singing partner Art Garfunkel made their own big breakthrough as artists with “Sounds Of Silence”. When the duo each went solo in the early 70s, Paul’s albums continued to be plundered by his peers, and things have remained that way well into the 21st century.

“American Tunes” features almost two dozen of Paul’s prime compositions, reinterpreted in all manner of styles from rock to reggae to acapella to adult contemporary. All have been chosen to represent the diversity in Paul’s writing, and also chosen because of the high quality of each individual reinterpretation.

Some tracks may be less familiar than others, but all are guaranteed to appeal to fans of Simon songs everywhere. Some of the biggest names in popular music from the past 70 years are among those singing said songs – a true indication of the high regard in which his words and music are held in his peer group.

Approved by the songwriter himself, Ace is delighted to say that “American Tunes” has been assembled with the co-operation of and with significant input from Paul Simon.  As always, extensive annotation and copious photographs and ephemera make the booklet almost as appealing as the music.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I Am A Rock - The Hollies

  • 02 Preview Homeward Bound - Cher

  • 03 Preview The Fifty Ninth Street Bridge Song - Harpers Bizarre

  • 04 Preview You Don't Know Where Your Interest Lies - Dana Valery

  • 05 Preview Leaves That Are Green - Dorris Henderson/John Renbourn

  • 06 Preview Blessed - The Tremeloes

  • 07 Preview The Boxer - Emmylou Harris

  • 08 Preview Keep The Customer Satisfied - Marsha Hunt

  • 09 Preview A Hazy Shade Of Winter - The Bangles

  • 10 Preview Bridge Over Troubled Water (Single Version) - Aretha Franklin

  • 11 Preview The Sound Of Silence - Peaches & Herb

  • 12 Preview The Only Living Boy in New York (Weather Report) - The Tennors

  • 13 Preview 50 Ways To Leave Your Lover - Rosemary Clooney

  • 14 Preview Mother And Child Reunion - The Intruders

  • 15 Preview Cecilia - Smokey Robinson & the Miracles

  • 16 Preview Richard Cory - The Heptones

  • 17 Preview Something So Right - Annie Lennox (featuring Paul Simon)

  • 18 Preview Loves Me Like A Rock - The Persuasions

  • 19 Preview Take Me To The Mardi Gras - Johnnie & Floyd Taylor

  • 20 Preview The Boy In The Bubble - Patti Smith

  • 21 Preview Long, Long Day - Rumer

  • 22 Preview Graceland - Willie Nelson

  • 23 Preview American Tune - Shawn Colvin

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought