Birth Of Soul: Special Chicago Edition Various Artists (Birth of Soul)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

Kent’s “Birth Of Soul” series has always thrown its spotlight on the great music of black America that emerged in the R&B and doo wop years. Some cities were more influential than others in ushering-in the sound of soul and in recognition of this, a new sub-series of Special Editions has been designed around their output. Kent could hardly have picked a better place to start than Chicago.

I believe that Chicago was the birthplace of soul music, and that the Impressions’ ‘For Your Precious Love’ is a major contender as the very first soul record. The version included here has not been available anywhere before because it’s the demo that the group made before they got their deal with Vee-Jay. Originally entitled ‘Your Precious Love’, it was cut for Bandera and featured only their voices accompanied by the guitar of Curtis Mayfield. Along with Carl Davis, Jerry Butler, Johnny Pate, Riley Hampton and a few other key players, Curtis was responsible for creating the Chicago Sound. He wrote many of the early classics, including ‘Phyllis’ and ‘I’ve Got A Girl’ for Major Lance, two rarities that also feature the Impressions in the background, as do several of the other recordings on this CD.

Curtis is the thread than links so much of this early music. Jan Bradley had the benefit of his guidance from early on. ‘Behind Curtains’ is an ambitious song, confidently presented. Jan would get her biggest hit with Curtis on ‘Mama Didn’t Lie’ but when Chess acquired her masters Mayfield declined further involvement.Another unusual Mayfield song, ‘Isle Of Sirens’ by Jerry Butler, was based on the Greek myth of beautiful female voices luring unsuspecting sailors to their deaths in the perilous seas surrounding their home. Curtis’ first lead A-side after Butler left the Impressions was ‘Senorita I Love You’ also featured here.

While I had read about most of these artists, I hadn’t heard the Accents’ ‘Enchanted Garden’ or Don & Bob’s stunning ‘Good Morning Little Schoolgirl’ (although I’ve owned the Yardbirds’ version for years) or even the Radiants’ Smokey-influenced ‘Father Knows Best’, but I’m glad I have now. Eugene Record’s Chanteurs echo shades of the early Drifters on ‘You’ve Got A Great Love’ and the insistent Kavetts, who later appeared on OKeh were practically unheard outside Chicago on ‘I’ve Got A Story To Tell You’.

Other highlights include Eugene Record’s Chanteurs, who echo shades of the early Drifters on ‘You’ve Got A Great Love’ and the insistent Kavetts, who later appeared on Okeh but were practically unheard outside Chicago, on ‘I’ve Got A Story To Tell You’. The bluesy ‘I’ll Weep No More’ features Betty Everett’s beautiful voice, but her style had not really developed until her work on VJ with Calvin Carter. Gerald Sims certainly made many valuable contributions to Chicago Soul behind the scenes, but he also made records out front too such as ‘Cool Breeze’ with the Daylighters.

There are some other superb rarities. Gerald Sims certainly made valuable contributions to Chicago Soul behind the scenes and also made a couple of records out front too, such as ‘Cool Breeze’ with the Daylighters. There are so many great tracks on this collection: by Barbara Lewis, the Mighty Mighty Dells, Gene Chandler, Dee Clark and others that I haven’t the space to review. Tony Rounce’s excellent compilation and Bill Dahl’s comprehensive notes make this fine 24 track CD mandatory for any soul music fan who will find it a fascinating and informative trawl through the early days of Chicago Soul.

by Peter Burns


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview For Your Precious Love (demo) - Jerry Butler & The Impressions

  • 02 Preview I've Got A Girl - Major Lance

  • 03 Preview I'll Weep No More - Betty Everett

  • 04 Preview Senorita I Love You - The Impressions

  • 05 Preview Good Morning Little Schoolgirl - Don & Bob

  • 06 Preview My Heart Cries - Etta & Harvey

  • 07 Preview Phyllis - Major Lance

  • 08 Preview Isle Of Sirens - Jerry Butler

  • 09 Preview Behind The Curtains - Jan Bradley

  • 10 Preview Let 'Em Try - Rosco Gordon

  • 11 Preview Enchanted Garden - The Accents

  • 12 Preview Father Knows Best - The Radiants

  • 13 Preview Tragic - The Sheppards

  • 14 Preview At The Party - Wade Flemons

  • 15 Preview Waiting For Charlie To Come Home - Etta James

  • 16 Preview You've Got A Great Love - The Chanteurs

  • 17 Preview I've Got A Story To Tell You - The Kavetts

  • 18 Preview Cool Breeze - Gerald Sims & The Daylighters

  • 19 Preview Puppy Love - Barbara Lewis

  • 20 Preview Hi Diddley Dee Dum Dum (It's A Good Good Feeling) - The Dells

  • 21 Preview Tell Him - The Drew-Vels

  • 22 Preview That's My Girl - Dee Clark

  • 23 Preview My Baby's Got Soul - Sugar Pie DeSanto

  • 24 Preview Think Nothing About It - Gene Chandler

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes




Brimful of soul. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought