Bless You California: More Early Songs Of Randy Newman Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Psych / Garage
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1240

Following on from the success of “On Vine Street”, Ace’s first collection of compositions by Randy Newman, comes “Bless You California”. As with the previous volume, the focus is primarily on Newman’s early work for Metric Music, and once again there’s a diverse array of classics, near-misses and obscurities on offer here. Listening to the emerging talent of one of the world’s most gifted songwriters makes for a fascinating 67 minutes.

It was during his tenure at Metric in the 1960s that Randy honed his writing skills. There’s clearly a brain ticking away here. Randy was still finding his songwriting niche and testing the musical waters by trying his hand at a wide range of genres. From soul ballads (Irma Thomas’ reading of ‘Anyone Who Knows What Love Is’) to widescreen Americana (‘Illinois’ from the Everly Brothers’ outstanding “Roots” LP), to the charming pre-rock innocence of the Fleetwoods (‘Ask Him If He’s Got A Friend For Me’), to the character sketches for which he would later achieve fame and notoriety (Duffy Power’s ‘(Davy O’Brien) Leave That Baby Alone’), you could never say Newman was stuck in a rut. There’s even a cocktail jazz instrumental in Martin Denny’s ‘Scarlet Mist’ – a new one to me, and a recording which maybe explains Randy’s brief spell writing for the TV Music Library at 20th Century Fox (or maybe it was the influence of his soundtrack-composing uncle Alfred, who penned the immortal Fox fanfare ident).

In spite of this almost scattershot approach (“well, that didn’t work, let’s try this”), from the evidence here it’s possible to trace the emergence of one of the most idiosyncratic singer-songwriters of the 1970s. While the style-hopping may imply a certain lack of self-confidence, once Randy had found his lyrical voice (apparently with ‘Simon Smith And The Amazing Dancing Bear’, included on “On Vine Street”), he was off and running. The sardonic pops at society wrapped up in ‘The Debutante’s Ball’ (performed here by Liza Minnelli) and ‘Bless You California’ (the Beau Brummels) present a world-view unlike any other songwriter from the era. Still, even at this stage in his career he could turn his hand to a ballad as impossibly tender as ‘Snow’, perfectly suited to the none-more-fragile voice of Claudine Longet.

Other highlights include Alan Price’s delightful and chortlesome near-throwaway ‘Tickle Me’ and Harry Nilsson’s breathtaking performance of ‘Cowboy’, culled from his “Nilsson Sings Newman” album and featuring one of the most resigned, world-weary vocals ever committed to tape. From the ridiculous to the sublime and all points between; this terrific collection is not just for Newman scholars, but stands as a perfect introduction to a unique talent. Any chance of a third volume?

By Harvey Williams


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Anyone Who Knows What Love Is (Will Understand) - Irma Thomas

  • 02 Preview Davy O'Brien (Leave That Baby Alone) - Duffy Power

  • 03 Preview Let's Burn Down The Cornfield - Lou Rawls

  • 04 Preview Tickle Me - The Alan Price Set

  • 05 Preview Hold Your Head High - Jackie DeShannon

  • 06 Preview Bet No One Ever Hurt This Bad - Linda Ronstadt

  • 07 Preview Scarlet Mist - Martin Denny

  • 08 Preview I Got Over You - Dick Lory

  • 09 Preview Leave Me Alone - Peggy March

  • 10 Preview Ask Him If He's Got A Friend For Me - The Fleetwoods

  • 11 Preview Look At Me - Bobby Darin

  • 12 Preview Twenty Acres Of Land - Johnny Shepard

  • 13 Preview What Are You Waiting For - We Talkies

  • 14 Preview There's Just No Pleasing You - The Epics

  • 15 Preview Illinois - The Everly Brothers

  • 16 Preview Wait Till Next Year - Eric Burdon & The Animals

  • 17 Preview The Debutante's Ball - Liza Minnelli

  • 18 Preview Happyland - Harpers Bizarre

  • 19 Preview Straight Up - P.J. Proby

  • 20 Preview She'll Never Understand Him (Like I Do) - Connie Stevens

  • 21 Preview Cowboy - Nilsson

  • 22 Preview I Wonder Why - Ella Fitzgerald

  • 23 Preview Let Me Go - The Box Tops

  • 24 Preview Snow - Claudine Longet

  • 25 Preview Beehive State - The Doobie Brothers

  • 26 Preview Bless You California - The Beau Brummels

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Another treasure trove skipping between famous names and forgotten also-rans. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought