Bobby Gillespie Presents I Still Can't Believe You're Gone Various Artists (Presents)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1605

This product is also available in these versions:
Bobby Gillespie Presents I Still Can't Believe You're Gone, LP (£30.98)

Following on from the Primal Scream frontman’s brilliantly-received previous release for Ace, ‘Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down’ (accolades included being short-listed for Rough Trade’s compilation of the year), Bobby Gillespie brings us another slice of the music that soundtracks his life. And in this case, it’s his touring life. Drawing on the experience of ‘the way that the noise and clamour of the road can tire you out, wear you down and frazzle your nerves to shattered fragments of jangled exhaustion’, these are the records Bobby turns to for solace, for comfort, for empathy and for resourcefulness.

The compilation features an introduction from the man himself, talking us through his personal choices as though he’s sitting cross-legged on the carpet going through records with you in his lounge. Also long-time cohort of the band, Kris Needs has written extensive liner notes, serving up an intensive track by track insight and analysis.

Titled after and kicking off with the Willie Nelson track of the same name, ‘I Still Can’t Believe You’re Gone’ leads us through a darker and deeper exploration than it’s predecessor, featuring Nick Cave’s funereal version of ‘By The Time I Get To Phoenix’ and Ry Cooder’s sparse and beautiful reworking of ‘Dark End Of The Street’. And we get there via such greats as Bob Dylan, JJ Cale, Donnie Fritts, Crazy Horse, Lee Hazlewood, Al Green, Thin Lizzy and so many more.

In Bobby’s own words: ‘These songs are soul savers to soothe frayed and battered nerves and to ease and settle the heart. They work on me like medicine every time. I would like to share this wonderful music that has given me strength, joy and inspiration over the years with you the listener, so that you too might get the same feelings of protection and inspiration that I do whenever I listen to these songs. We're all travellers on some kind of road through this life, and we all need respite from time to time - the music on this compilation is soul food of the highest order - I hope you enjoy it.’


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I Still Can't Believe You're Gone - Willie Nelson

  • 02 Preview Love Sick - Bob Dylan

  • 03 Preview We Had It All - Donnie Fritts

  • 04 Preview Magnolia - J.J. Cale

  • 05 Preview By The Time I Get To Phoenix - Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

  • 06 Preview I Don't Want To Talk About It - Crazy Horse

  • 07 Preview Dark End Of The Street - Ry Cooder

  • 08 Preview Kind Woman - Percy Sledge

  • 09 Preview Wait And See - Lee Hazlewood

  • 10 Preview Strong As Death (Sweet As Love) - Al Green

  • 11 Preview Shades Of A Blue Orphanage - Thin Lizzy

  • 12 Preview Heart Like A Wheel - Kate & Anna McGarrigle

  • 13 Preview When My Mind's Gone - Mott The Hoople

  • 14 Preview I'll Be Long Gone - Boz Scaggs

  • 15 Preview The Coldest Days Of My Life Pt 1 - The Chi-Lites

  • 16 Preview Roll Um Easy - Little Feat

  • 17 Preview Brokedown Palace - Grateful Dead

  • 18 Preview I Feel Like Going Home - Charlie Rich

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought