Cajun Classics Various Artists (States & Regions)


Louisiana/New Orleans
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

This new mid-price set is in effect a Very Best of Cajun Classics, and is drawn mainly from the two now-deleted volumes that were among our best sellers (in any genre) during the 1990s. Those releases hit the button just as Cajun music was enjoying a popularity in the UK that was akin to the calypso, trad jazz and R&B booms of years gone by.

Suddenly, young musicians were taking up the accordion and fiddle-.-new bands with cute Louisiana names were springing up-.-dance schools were adding the Cajun two-step and waltz to their curricula-.-the Cajun bookshelf started groaning-.-and Cajun CDs were selling like pop records. Best of all, authentic Cajun musicians started visiting the British shores, notably D L Menard, Eddie LeJeune, Balfa Toujours and Beausoleil.

Now, as it always does, Cajun music has found its own level on the musical barometer. With this continued interest, we needed to fill the gaping hole in our catalogue brought about by the withdrawal of the original Cajun Classics CDs (due to expiry of licenses).

This revamped and revitalised Cajun Classics is just that, classic Cajun artists performing classic Cajun songs. So you will hear those accordion masters Nathan Abshire and Iry LeJeune - respectively the "Muddy Waters" and "Robert Johnson" of Cajun music. Other Kings of Cajun playing the 'squeezebox' are Austin Pitre, Belton Richard, Aldus Roger and Lawrence Walker. As for the Cajun fiddle players, they come no better than Dewey Balfa, Doc Guidry and Michael Doucet (of current Cajun top act Beausoleil).

Among the favourite songs are Jolie Blon, The Back Door, Pine Grove Blues and Hippy-Ti-Yo. Totally new additions to the package include Jimmy 'C' Newman's big 1970s hit Lache Pas La Patate and the Cajun Trio's rollicking version of Joseph Falcon's Le Tortillage - better known as Keep A Knocking.

In testimony, Floyd Soileau (the esteemed head of Swallow Records, which provides the bulk of the tracks) says the compilation is "terrific". For our part, we are certain this CD will be seen as the classic Cajun Classics - for the committed fan and for the casual buyer.

By John Broven
(Compiler - and author of "South to Louisiana: The Music of the Cajun Bayous")


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview The Back Door - D L Menard with Badeaux & The Louisiana Aces

  • 02 Preview Pine Grove Blues - Nathan Abshire & his Pine Grove Boys

  • 03 Preview Lacassine Special - The Balfa Brothers

  • 04 Preview Jole Blon - Vin Bruce

  • 05 Preview Saturday Night Special - Lesa Cormier & The Sundown Playboys

  • 06 Preview Lache Pas La Patate - Jimmy 'C' Newman

  • 07 Preview Valse De Jolly Rogers - D L Menard with Badeaux & The Louisiana Aces

  • 08 Preview Lafayette Two-step - Aldus Roger & the Louisiana Playboys

  • 09 Preview Equand J'Etais Pauvre - Dewey Balfa And Friends

  • 10 Preview Hippy-Ti-Yo - Joe Bonsall & the Orange Playboys

  • 11 Preview Lemonade Song - Nathan Abshire & his Pine Grove Boys vocal Thomas Langley

  • 12 Preview Grande Bosco - Iry Lejeune

  • 13 Preview Cajun Stripper - Belton Richard & his Musical Aces

  • 14 Preview Grand Mamou - Jimmy 'C' Newman

  • 15 Preview Le Tortillage aka Cajun Twist - The Cajun Trio

  • 16 Preview Cher Cherie - Doc Guidry

  • 17 Preview Les Veuves De La Coulee - Happy Fats

  • 18 Preview La Valse De Reno - Lawrence Walker & his Wandering Aces

  • 19 Preview Sur Le Courtableau - Nathan Abshire & his Pine Grove Boys

  • 20 Preview Flumes D'Enfer - Austin Pitre & the Evangeline Playboys

  • 21 Preview Jolie Fille - The Touchet Brothers

  • 22 Preview Hold My False Teeth - Camay Doucet

  • 23 Preview J'Ai Vu Le Loup - Beausoleil

  • 24 Preview Hee Haw Breakdown - Nolan Cormier And The L.A. Aces

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought