C'est Chic! French Girl Singers Of The 1960s Various Artists (Ace International)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1283

This product is also available in these versions:
C'est Chic! French Girl Singers Of The 60s, LP (£24.78)

This time last year we were frantically preparing for the release on Big Beat International of Sheila Burgel’s “Nippon Girls: Japanese Pop, Beat & Bossa Nova 1966-1970” compilation (CDWIKD 288). The CD ended up drawing a very favourable reception, particularly from hip young sophisticates with a yen for something edgy and different to inspire them on the dance-floor. For the inaugural issue on our new Ace International imprint we stray a little less far from home, hopping just over the Channel to France, epicentre of the 1960s yé-yé girl phenomenon.

Comprising 24 tracks by 20 acts, “C’est Chic!” features many of the premier female vocalists to emerge from France during the 60s. Also included are a few French-singing non-nationals, such as Cairo-born Liz Brady, Danish actress Anna Karina and ultra-chic half-French Londoner Louise Cordet, the girl who taught Paul McCartney to hully gully.

Of all the yé-yé girls, only the exquisite Françoise Hardy was afforded the privilege of consistent British releases throughout the 1960s. Her catalogue is so consistently excellent that almost any of her recordings could have graced this collection. The pragmatic fatalism of ‘Voilà’ and the baroque loveliness of Nirvana’s ‘Tiny Goddess’, translated as ‘Je Ne Sais Pas Ce Que Je Veux’ by the lady herself, clinched their inclusion. Adorable cover girl France Gall, cult favourite Jacqueline Taïeb and top Gallic girl group Les Gam’s are also represented by two titles apiece.

The majority of the songs here are French compositions, but not all; astute listeners will recognise some in their original English language versions. ‘We Got A Thing That’s In The Groove’ (a hit for US soul group the Capitols), ‘I’m Going Out With The Girls’ (original version: Barbara Chandler), ‘Laugh At Me’ (Sonny Bono), ‘Around And Around We Go’ (Lonnie Jay & the Jaynes), ‘He’s In Town’ (the Tokens) and ‘The Sha La La Song’ (Marianne Faithfull) are given a distinctive French twist by Charlotte Leslie, Les Surfs, Sheila, Louise Cordet, Ria Bartok and Marie Laforêt respectively.

Co-compiler Malcolm Baumgart and I are currently immersed in the music of the yé-yé girls of Italy and Spain with a view to future Ace International releases. Also in the works is a collection of the compositions of Serge Gainsbourg, enfant terrible of the yé-yé generation, from whose vast catalogue ‘Roller Girl’ by Anna Karina, ‘Non, A Tous Les Garçons’ by Michèle Torr and ‘Laisser Tomber Les Filles’ by France Gall are among this groovy set’s other highlights. If the latter sounds familiar, you may have experienced it on a Tarantino soundtrack translated as ‘Chick Habit’ by April March.

“C’est Chic!” comes with a gorgeously illustrated 24-page booklet featuring a 5,000 word track-by-track commentary. Much of the information was sourced from the Ready Steady Girls! website, a must-visit for all devotees of female yé-yé:


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Le Coeur Au Bout Des Doigts - Jacqueline Taïeb

  • 02 Preview Laisse Tomber Les Filles - France Gall

  • 03 Preview Roller Girl - Anna Karina

  • 04 Preview Je Suis Folle De Tant T'aimer - Arlette Zola

  • 05 Preview Ne Me Laisse Pas L'Aimer - Brigitte Bardot

  • 06 Preview Les Filles C'est Fait Pour Faire L'amour - Charlotte Leslie

  • 07 Preview Le Temps De La Rentrée - France Gall

  • 08 Preview L'adorable Femme Des Neiges - Christie Laume

  • 09 Preview Je Ne Sais Pas Ce Que Je Veux (English language original: Tiny Goddess) - Françoise Hardy

  • 10 Preview Ce Soir Je M'en Vais - Jacqueline Taïeb

  • 11 Preview Tu La Revois (English language original: He's In Town) - Ria Bartok

  • 12 Preview Voilà - Françoise Hardy

  • 13 Preview A Demain My Darling (English language original: The Sha La La Song) - Marie Laforêt

  • 14 Preview C'est La Mode - Annie Philippe

  • 15 Preview A La Fin Tu Gagneras - Jocelyne

  • 16 Preview Un Chagrin A Oublier - Alice Dona

  • 17 Preview L'amour Tourne En Rond (English language original: Around And Around We Go) - Louise Cordet

  • 18 Preview Impatiente (D'être Seule Pour Pleurer) - Les Gam's with Annie Markan

  • 19 Preview A La Même Heure (English language original: Laugh At Me) - Sheila

  • 20 Preview Chaque Nuit (English language original: I'm Going Out With The Girls) - Les Surfs

  • 21 Preview Non, A Tous Les Garçons - Michèle Torr

  • 22 Preview Donne Moi - Petula Clark

  • 23 Preview L'été Reviendra - Les Gam's

  • 24 Preview Il Suffit D'un Jour - Liz Brady

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A glorious compilation. ★★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought