Clowns Exit Laughing - The Jimmy Webb Songbook Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1620

Ace’s highly regarded and highly popular Songwriter Series continues apace, with several exciting projects in place for release in the second half of 2022 and beyond. This month we welcome Jimmy Webb onto our expanding list with “Clowns Exit Laughing”, a deep dip into this prolific tunesmith’s extensive catalogue of the past six decades.

After a period of establishing his credentials as a writer with Motown’s West Coast office, Jimmy really came into his own in the mid-60s with classic songs like ‘By The Time I Get To Phoenix’, ‘Wichita Lineman’ and ‘Up Up And Away’. Everyone wanted to record a Jimmy Webb copyright, and a great many people did as this CD demonstrates.

Although Jimmy has never stopped writing, “Clowns Exit Laughing” naturally concentrates on a time when a new Jimmy Webb classic seemed to appear every other week.  As is always Ace’s policy with the Songwriter Series, each featured artist performs only one song but we are sure that inclusions by the likes of Tony Joe White, Dionne Warwick, Dusty Springfield and other major names will disappoint nobody.

Also included for collectors are several rare, seldom heard original versions of songs primarily associated with other artists, such as Don Ho’s original of ‘Galveston’ and James Darren’s first recording of ‘Didn’t We’.

As ever, comprehensive annotation and copious illustration are part and parcel of the CD package. We are delighted to bring this magical collection to you, and equally delighted to add this stellar songwriter to our ever-growing series. 

Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview By The Time I Get To Phoenix - Glen Campbell

  • 02 Preview Up, Up And Away - Dionne Warwick

  • 03 Preview Carpet Man - The Nocturnes

  • 04 Preview When Eddie Comes Home - The Everly Brothers

  • 05 Preview I Need You - Shane Martin

  • 06 Preview Honey Come Back - Chuck Jackson

  • 07 Preview Where's The Playground, Susie? - Everything But The Girl

  • 08 Preview Midnight Mail - Joey Scarbury

  • 09 Preview The Moon's A Harsh Mistress - The Walker Brothers

  • 10 Preview Wichita Lineman - Tony Joe White

  • 11 Preview Didn't We - James Darren

  • 12 Preview Macarthur Park - Waylon Jennings & The Kimberlys

  • 13 Preview I Keep It Hid - The Supremes

  • 14 Preview Do What You Gotta Do - Nina Simone

  • 15 Preview Galveston - Don Ho

  • 16 Preview The Worst That Could Happen - B.J. Thomas

  • 17 Preview Requiem: 820 Latham - Mel Tormé

  • 18 Preview Magic Garden - Dusty Springfield

  • 19 Preview Rosecrans Blvd. - The 5th Dimension

  • 20 Preview Which Way To Nowhere - The Brooklyn Bridge

  • 21 Preview Clowns Exit Laughing - The Fortunes

  • 22 Preview P.F. Sloan - Rumer

  • 23 Preview Highwayman - Waylon Jennings, Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash, Kris Kristofferson

  • 24 Preview If This Was The Last Song - Dee Dee Warwick With The Dixie Flyers

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought