Come Back Strong - Hotlanta Soul 4 Various Artists (Hotlanta/ GMG)


Modern Soul
Catalogue Id:

Underrated Atlanta, Georgia and Birmingham, Alabama give us 23 southern soul scorchers – raw and refined.

The cities of Atlanta, Georgia and Birmingham, Alabama were never major recording hubs but in the early 70s they were the source of many fine examples of southern soul. The Moonsong and Clintone labels of Birmingham and the GRC, Aware and Hotlanta imprints from Atlanta sported artists of the calibre of John Edwards, Bill Brandon, Lorraine Johnson and Loleatta Holloway. Those acts are all included on this CD, but it is the lesser-known performers who complete the labels’ story.

Judy Green recorded only two singles with local producer Tee Fletcher. Her Aware sides, the groovy ‘Face To Face’ and the beautiful ballad ‘I Still Love You’, are here. Delia Gartrell’s powerful recording of Al Braggs’ ‘If I Had My Way’ is the rarest of the labels’ releases. Another notable female singer, Dorothy Norwood, combines a gospel message with the soul sound of the day on the previously unreleased Deke Richards-penned ‘Big Boat Ride’. Lorraine Johnson sang on many demos for the publishing arms of the labels and her performances of the jazz-soul gem ‘A Love Like Yours’ and the previously unheard ‘The Best Of My Years’ show her talents were underused until later in the decade when she had hits with Prelude. Two great Clintone label female artists are also showcased: Rozetta Johnson with an alternate take of Sam Dees’ ‘I've Come Too Far With You (To Turn Back Now)’ and Jean Battle with another great Sam Dees’ number, ‘When A Woman Loves A Man’, as licensed out to the small Red Lite label.

There was a Los Angeles side to the GRC set-up; Dee Ervin, Joe Hinton, Lee Brackett and Jimmy Lewis from that city are all featured on rare or previously unissued recordings. Detroit and Chicago also provided a few acts; Deep Velvet’s take on ‘Complain To The Clouds’ is much more harmonious than Ripple’s funk take on the song, while producer Floyd Smith goes all Barry White on his interpretation of the Ripple-penned ‘I Want ‘Cha To Let Me Come Home’ and the Steppers were an interesting amalgamation of Detroit musicians and singers whose one-off 45 ‘Come And Get It’ made a lot of noise but failed to chart.

Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Big Boat Ride - Dorothy Norwood

  • 02 Preview We Always Come Back Strong - John Edwards

  • 03 Preview Face To Face - Judy Green

  • 04 Preview Up Is Down - Joe Hinton

  • 05 Preview I Can't Leave You Alone - Jimmy Lewis

  • 06 Preview The Party Life - King Hannibal

  • 07 Preview When A Woman Loves A Man - Jean Battle

  • 08 Preview A Love Like Yours - Lorraine Johnson

  • 09 Preview You Get To Me - Lee Brackett

  • 10 Preview Claim Jumpin' - Bill Brandon

  • 11 Preview If I Had My Way - Delia Gartrell

  • 12 Preview A Hundred Years From Today - Dee Ervin

  • 13 Preview What Good Is A Love - Sam Dees

  • 14 Preview I Want 'Cha To Let Me Come Home - Floyd Smith

  • 15 Preview I Still Love You So - Judy Green

  • 16 Preview I've Come Too Far With You (To Turn Back Now) - Rozetta Johnson

  • 17 Preview Hollywood Faces - Joe Hinton & Dee Ervin

  • 18 Preview It Takes More Than A Moment - Phase Four

  • 19 Preview Come And Get It - The Steppers

  • 20 Preview Go Away (Get Out Of My Life) - Carl James & Jackie Irvin

  • 21 Preview Complain To The Clouds (But You Can't Change The Weather) - Deep Velvet

  • 22 Preview So Can I - Loleatta Holloway

  • 23 Preview The Best Of My Years - Lorraine Johnson

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

A sumptuous set of diverse soul styles ★★★★


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought