Come Spy With Us Various Artists (Fun Time)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1392

These days the cinema is full of rubbish action movies where things blow up improbably and frequently and unfunny romantic comedies that are forgotten as soon as the credits roll. The telly’s not much better, full of “celebrities” whose only real celebrity is that they are famous for … well, you tell us. But it wasn’t always like that.

Once you could take your seat in the one-and-nines and see intelligently plotted thrillers in which a suave hero strove to keep the world safe without blowing half of it up. Or you could switch on the box and watch the exploits of an equally worthy hero for 60 gripping minutes in a series that established many fictitious espionage experts as true celebrities.

“Come Spy With Us” salutes the period in question by bringing together songs and themes from the televisual and cinematic worlds of espionage, paying homage to some of the best – and, we admit, one or two of the worst – TV shows and films of the genre’s golden era. Bulldog Drummond, Boysie Oakes, Harry Palmer, Napoleon Solo, Illya Kuryakin, Matt Helm, Modesty Blaise, John Drake, Maxwell Smart, Amos Burke, Derek Flint and, of course, James Bond are among those whose adventures lit up our lives during the 60s and beyond, usually to a soundtrack that remains as memorable as those adventures. Purchase of this compact disc will allow you to relive, if not their adventures, then certainly their theme tunes – many of which have taken on lives of their own outside of the films and TV shows for which they were commissioned.

The 25 individual episodes in our musical mission run the gamut of popular music, from Motown icons (Miracles, Supremes), jazz instrumental maestros (Wynton Kelly, Jimmy Smith), vocal stylists (Cleo Laine, Sarah Vaughan) and twangy guitar kings (Challengers, Al Caiola, Billy Strange) to emperors of honk (Red Price, Johnny Paris and the Hurricanes), 60s pop goddesses (Nancy, Dusty, Maughan and Bassey) and ace orchestrators (John Barry, Roland Shaw, Brian Fahey).

You don’t have to be a member of any secret organisation in order to “Come Spy With Us”.  Your license to thrill to the 25 selections you will encounter on this mission – should you choose to accept it – will never be revoked. And we absolutely guarantee this CD will NOT self-destruct within 10 seconds of your playing it.

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview A Man Alone (Theme from The Ipcress File) - John Barry & His Orchestra

  • 02 Preview Deadlier Than The Male - The Walker Brothers

  • 03 Preview Arabesque - The Ventures

  • 04 Preview The Look Of Love (Theme From Casino Royale) - Dusty Springfield

  • 05 Preview Theme From Danger Man - Red Price & His Combo

  • 06 Preview The Silencers - Vikki Carr

  • 07 Preview Secret Agent Man - Al Caiola

  • 08 Preview Who Needs Forever (Theme From The Deadly Affair) - Astrud Gilberto

  • 09 Preview Theme From The Man From U.N.C.L.E - The Challengers

  • 10 Preview The Last Of The Secret Agents - Nancy Sinatra

  • 11 Preview Mission: Impossible - Lalo Schifrin & His Orchestra

  • 12 Preview Dr Goldfoot And The Bikini Machine - The Supremes

  • 13 Preview Our Man Flint - Billy Strange

  • 14 Preview Wednesday's Child (Theme From The Quiller Memorandum) - Matt Monro

  • 15 Preview Theme From Get Smart - Bob Crane, His Drums & Orchestra

  • 16 Preview We Should've (Theme From Modesty Blaise) - Cleo Laine & Ray Ellington

  • 17 Preview The James Bond Theme (Dr No) - Johnny & The Hurricanes

  • 18 Preview Burke's Law Theme - Wynton Kelly

  • 19 Preview Where The Bullets Fly - Susan Maughan

  • 20 Preview High Wire (Theme From Danger Man) - Brian Fahey & His Orchestra

  • 21 Preview Bye Bye (Theme From Peter Gunn) - Sarah Vaughan

  • 22 Preview Theme From Where The Spies Are - Jimmy Smith

  • 23 Preview The Liquidator - Shirley Bassey

  • 24 Preview I Spy - Roland Shaw & His Orchestra

  • 25 Preview Come Spy With Me - Smokey Robinson & The Miracles

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought