Double Cookin' - Classic Northern Soul Instrumentals Various Artists (Themes)


Northern Soul
Catalogue Id:

The instrumental has always been an integral part of the Northern Soul scene, right back to its very earliest days. Not everyone likes them, but they’re so ingrained into the culture of the scene that it’s hard to imagine life without them. Certainly enough people do like them for us to have been approached by those who have wondered why the Kent catalogue has never opened its arms to embrace a whole CD of Northern instros – especially considering how many of them there actually are.

Those who have, need wonder no more. After much thought and planning, we can finally lift the lid on Kent’s first ever overview of nearly a decade’s worth of floorfillers and all-time anthems that, between them, provide a comprehensive overview of what happens in a dance when the singing stops and the music takes over.

“Double Cookin’” brings together two dozen wordless wonders, the majority of which have proven their worth time and again as a means of filling a Northern Soul dance floor quickly. The vast majority of the titles on show will need not one word of introduction to the faithful. Indeed the popularity of some, such as the offerings of Hugo Montenegro and Bill Black’s Combo, date back to the very early days of the Northern Scene. For others, memories of the Mecca, Torch or Catacombs will be conjured up as soon as the intros to ‘Cigarette Ashes’, ‘Tracks To Your Mind’ and ‘Hey America’ come blasting through the speakers. Original and born again Wiganites will get their kicks out on the floor to our title track, ‘The Spy’ and the instrumentals to ‘Before It’s Too Late’, ‘The Same Old Thing’, ‘Turn Back The Hands Of Time’ and ‘Lay This Burden Down’ – all four of which were originally stripped of their vocals for play at the Casino. We’ve even thrown in a couple of newly-mixed instrumentals of proven vocal favourites that are exclusive to this CD, and that would have torn any dancefloor up had they been around during the instro’s peak years of popularity.

“Double Cookin” does not set itself up as high art. “Dave Godin’s Deep Soul Treasures” it most certainly is not. Wizened commentators will not have a field day sitting around discussing the subtle nuances of ‘The Champion’ or ‘Sliced Tomatoes’ because they don’t really have any. Future archivists of the scene will probably not be writing 2000 word essays on the importance of ‘Danse A La Musique’ or ‘Thumb A Ride’ to the development of Northern Soul. They and the other 22 tracks on this CD are here to enjoy, not to analyse.

These records have no power to change anyone’s life. What they do have is the power to propel anyone in the direction of their nearest dance floor in pursuit of maximum pleasuring of the feet, augmented by soul clapping where appropriate…

…Now where did I put that talc?

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Double Cookin' - The Checkerboard Squares

  • 02 Preview Make Me Yours - Arthur Wright & His Orchestra

  • 03 Preview Festival Time - The San Remo Golden Strings

  • 04 Preview Little Queenie - Bill Black's Combo

  • 05 Preview Tracks To Your Mind - The Sounds Of Lane

  • 06 Preview The Champion Pt 1 - Willie Mitchell

  • 07 Preview Lay This Burden Down - Arthur Wright & His Orchestra

  • 08 Preview Cigarette Ashes - Jimmy Conwell

  • 09 Preview Sliced Tomatoes - Just Brothers

  • 10 Preview If I Could Turn Back The Hands Of Time - Arthur Wright & His Orchestra

  • 11 Preview The Spy - The Guys From U.N.C.L.E.

  • 12 Preview Sherry - Hugo Montenegro & His Orchestra

  • 13 Preview Before It's Too Late - Arthur Wright & His Orchestra

  • 14 Preview Gone With The Wind Is My Love (Instrumental) - The Doré Strings

  • 15 Preview Marching (Instrumental) - The Camp

  • 16 Preview Thumb A Ride - Earl Wright & His Orchestra

  • 17 Preview Danse A La Musique - The French Fries

  • 18 Preview The Same Old Thing - The Fred Smith Orchestra

  • 19 Preview Jerk Baby Jerk - Smoky & The Fabulous Blades

  • 20 Preview Stirrin' Up Some Soul - The Mar-Ketts

  • 21 Preview Right On - Al De Lory & Mandingo

  • 22 Preview Hey America (Sing-Along) - James Brown

  • 23 Preview A House For Sale - The Muscle Shoals Swampers

  • 24 Preview California Montage - Young-Holt Unlimited

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


24 real corkers...unmissable. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought