Everything Is Gonna Be Alright Various Artists (Westbound)


Catalogue Id:

50 years ago Emanuel Lasky’s timely ‘A Letter From Vietnam’ appeared on a brand new light blue label with a royal blue label name: Westbound Records was born. 
In the ensuing years it set about proving that post-Motown Detroit could still be a home to successful music-making, scoring hits and developing careers with a series of acts including Funkadelic, Denise LaSalle, the Detroit Emeralds and the Ohio Players, as well as registering pop hits with Byron McGregor, and recording incredible jazz on its Eastbound label.
“Everything Is Gonna Be Alright” looks at and celebrates the label’s achievements in the world of soul, funk and gospel. Named after Bill Moss’ uplifting gospel anthem, the journey takes you from the label’s very first single through the vocal group traditions of the Detroit Emeralds, the Magictones and Unique Blend, the funk of Funkadelic and the Ohio Players through to the Dennis Coffey and Mike Theodore-dominated disco era with CJ & Co and others.
The compilation has a mixture of big hits and rarities – from the Northern Soul classic by the Houston Outlaws to the much-sampled Pleasure Web. All are presented in their original seven-inch edits, many of which have never been reisssued. 



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 A Letter From Vietnam - Emanuel Lasky

  • 02 I'll Bet You - Funkadelic

  • 03 Everything's Gonna Be Alright - Bill Moss & The Celestials

  • 04 Ain't No Telling - Houston Outlaws

  • 05 I've Changed - The Magictones

  • 06 Trapped By A Thing Called Love - Denise LaSalle

  • 07 Pain Pt 1 - Ohio Players

  • 08 Why Not Start All Over Again - The Counts

  • 09 Baby Let Me Take You (In My Arms) - The Detroit Emeralds

  • 10 Yes I'm In Love - Unique Blend

  • 11 Crazy Legs - Donald Austin

  • 12 Funky Worm - Ohio Players

  • 13 I Love You - Motivations

  • 14 Music Man Part 1 - Pleasure Web

  • 15 Get Up Off My Mind - Denise LaSalle

  • 16 Standing On The Verge Of Getting It On - Funkadelic

  • 17 Alvin Stone (The Birth And Death Of A Gangster) - Fantastic Four

  • 18 Get Ya Some - Melvin Sparks

  • 19 If You Love Him - Junie

  • 20 The Magic Man - King Errison

  • 21 Devil's Gun - C.J. & Co

  • 22 Feel The Need - Detroit Emeralds

  • 23 Calling Planet Earth - Dennis Coffey

  • 24 High On Mad Mountain - The Mike Theodore Orchestra

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought