Flip Hits! And Misses! Various Artists (Flip)


Doo Wop
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1086

This product is also available in these versions:
Flip Hits! (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)
Flip Misses! (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

Los Angeles’ Flip Records only issued a total of 65 singles in its decade long life span (1955-65). The label’s founder and owner Max Feirtag’s policy of ‘quality over quantity’ certainly made sense, and the label can probably boast the biggest number of rockin’ R&B classics across the smallest number of releases of any of the labels in its peer group. Most West Coast R & B record men would have been grateful to have just Louie Louie in their catalogue. Feirtag and Flip could also boast Death Of An Angel, Have Love Will Travel, A Casual Kiss – bona fide hall-of-famers all – as well as many others that are nowadays held in the highest regard by collectors everywhere.

Flip also issued just a couple of compilations during the label’s golden decade, “Flip Hits” and “The Original Recordings By The Artists Who Made These Hits!” Although Ace has already reissued some of the contents of these albums since we acquired Flip and its masters a few years back, we’ve never reissued the original albums before now. Thus we’re delighted to bring you the original 19 tracks that made up these two albums (there was some overlap between the two LPs), with the bonus of a further thirteen sides. Now, if that isn’t value for money, then I really don’t know what is…

There’s not a lot that needs to be said about most of the music, of course. Readers of RT won’t need to be sold on the hits, and those whose love of all things group-oriented will know the catalogue of the Six Teens almost as well as the group members themselves did. Richard Berry’s backing gals the Dreamers also appear here as both themselves and the Locketts, while Donald Woods proves that there was much, much more to him than the justifiably legendary Death Of An Angel. (Woods was, by the way, a huge hero of Mother Of Invention and long time doo wop fan, Frank Zappa, who titled a 1984 album after the flip of Death, The Man From Utopia – not included here, but you can get it elsewhere on Ace.)

Many of our ‘bonus artists’ names do not carry the same degree of fame, but you won’t be able to help but wonder why they don’t when you hear their selections. Jimmie Smith, Rocky Holman, Ray Johnson, Sherman Williams, Rosalie & Donnell and Shank & Maydiea may not have been household names even in their own households, but their recordings show that, in most cases, it was only a lack of luck that prevented them from being as popular as any of Flip’s bigger and better-known names.

Some of you will be buying this CD just to get the hits, others because you’re a West Coast R&B freak who simply has to have anything and everything that ever came out between the end of WWII and the mid 60s. Whatever the reason for your purchase, you are all in for multiple treats. To borrow a line from the late great Vivian Stanshall (who probably would have found much to enjoy here himself!), mmmmmmmmm, that’s niiice, Max….

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview A Casual Look - The Six Teens

  • 02 Preview Arrow Of Love - Trudy Williams & The Six Teens

  • 03 Preview Only Jim - The Six Teens Featuring Trudy Williams

  • 04 Preview Teenage Promise - The Six Teens

  • 05 Preview My Special Guy - The Six Teens

  • 06 Preview Why Do I Go To School - The Six Teens Featuring Trudy Williams

  • 07 Preview Death Of An Angel - Donald Woods & the Vel-Aires

  • 08 Preview This Paradise - Donald Woods & The Bel-Aires/Vel-Aires

  • 09 Preview Stay With Me Always - Donald Woods & The Vel-Aires

  • 10 Preview Louie Louie - Richard Berry & The Pharaohs

  • 11 Preview The Mess Around - Richard Berry with Jennell Hawkins & The Lockettes

  • 12 Preview Take The Key (And Open Up My Heart) - Richard Berry & The Pharaohs

  • 13 Preview Have Love Will Travel - Richard Berry & The Pharaohs

  • 14 Preview Since You've Been Gone - The Dreamers {later released as by Jennell Hawkins & The Dreamers }

  • 15 Preview Do Not Forget - The Dreamers {later released as by Jennell Hawkins & The Dreamers }

  • 16 Preview Uncle Sam's Man - The Elgins

  • 17 Preview Been Lookin' Your Way - Lena Calhoun & The Emotions

  • 18 Preview Wanna, Wanna, Wanna, Wanna - The Ray Johnson Combo

  • 19 Preview Ghost Town - The Ray Johnson Combo

  • 20 Preview Rock-A-Billy Gal - The Colby Wolf Combo

  • 21 Preview Rock-A-Billy Gal - Jonathan W Craig and the Colby Wolf Combo

  • 22 Preview My Precious Love - Rocky Holman & the Romancers

  • 23 Preview Beginning Of Our Love - Rosalle & Donell

  • 24 Preview Shame On You - Rosalle & Donell

  • 25 Preview Teenage Bounce - Sherman Williams

  • 26 Preview Night Time Is The Time (I Miss You) - Jimmie Smith & Group

  • 27 Preview I'm Looking For A New Love - Sherman Williams

  • 28 Preview Longing - The Ray Johnson Combo

  • 29 Preview The Snake - Sherman Williams & his Band

  • 30 Preview Bye, Bye Baby (My Pride) - Shank & Maydiea

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought