Further Mellow Cats'n'Kittens - Hot R&B And Cool Blues 1946-1951 Various Artists (Mellow Cats)


Rhythm & Blues
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1322

This product is also available in these versions:
Further Mellow Cats'n'Kittens - Hot R&B And Cool Blues 1946-1951 (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

The “Mellow Cats’n’Kittens” series has been a pleasure for me to work on during the past few years. I’d always admired my late friend and colleague Ray Topping’s work on the Modern catalogue and I’ve tried to maintain and build on what he started. While I don’t pretend to have Ray’s dedicated appreciation of discographical minutiae, I’d like to think that, with this and a host of other projects, I’ve also done my bit to keep alive the wonderful productions of the Modern Music Company’s founder, Jules Bihari.

For the fifth volume in the series, we’ve taken the opportunity to complete the digitisation of the Modern discographies of several artists who have appeared on previous volumes, such as the Three Bits Of Rhythm and Felix Gross. We’re also premiering tracks by mainstays of the Modern catalogue that were previously thought lost (Jimmy Witherspoon’s first solo Modern track, ‘Motel’) or were undiscovered until relatively recently (our Hadda Brooks track, located on the back of a Smokey Hogg acetate).

There are quality cuts by past contributors such as Sylvester “Big Duke” Henderson, the equally “Big” Jim Wynn, Herb Fisher and Johnny Alston’s Orchestra – all fine purveyors of the kind of music that lit up Central Avenue in the decade immediately following the end of WWII. Our other points of call include Houston, Texas, where we take in selections from Gory (sic) Carter’s lone Modern session, before heading south west to New Orleans for a cut by the George Alexander band that was originally disguised as the work of Ramp Davis. Back on the west coast we feature the great boogie pianist Pete “P.K.” Johnson rollin’ ’em just as he did for so long with Big Joe Turner, and jazz guitar/vocal group legend Teddy Bunn jamming with a hot trio led by Kansas City piano king Jay McShann. For those who, like me, couldn’t experience the era personally, or the venues from which music like this poured seven nights a week, it’s the next best thing to being there.

As ever, deeper research has allowed us to include a copious amount of previously unissued recordings to add further spice to what is already a potent mix – 9 in total. Although this is the fifth instalment of “Mellow Cat’n’Kittens”, the contents are as strong as on any previous volume – and there’s still plenty of quality vintage Modern repertoire slated for reissue in the next few years.

Jump you some boogie? We certainly can, man!

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Rompin' The Boogie - Luke Jones & His Orchestra

  • 02 Preview I Was Too Blind To See - Ira Amos

  • 03 Preview Seven Days - Gory Carter

  • 04 Preview Happy Pay Day Part 1 - Austin McCoy

  • 05 Preview The Man That Comes To My House - Three Bits Of Rhythm

  • 06 Preview Everything Will Be Alright - Johnny Alston and his Orchestra, vocal: Jeanne Demetz

  • 07 Preview Worried Life Blues - Red Mack with Luke Jones and his Orchestra

  • 08 Preview Sunset Romp - P.K. Johnson

  • 09 Preview Motel - Jimmy Witherspoon

  • 10 Preview Trouble In Mind - Duke Henderson

  • 11 Preview Cold Blooded Boogie - Jim Wynn and his Orchestra (vocal: Snake Sims)

  • 12 Preview Mary You Are Mine Pts 1 & 2 - Felix Gross and his Orchestra

  • 13 Preview Baby Sue aka Mary Sue - Ramp Davis

  • 14 Preview Why Did You Say We're Through - Hadda Brooks and her Trio

  • 15 Preview Mean Ole Frisco - Red Mack with Luke Jones and his Orchestra

  • 16 Preview Be On Your Merry Way - Effie Smith

  • 17 Preview Forever On My Mind - Felix Gross and his Orchestra

  • 18 Preview Wine, Wine, Wine - The Herb Fisher Trio

  • 19 Preview In The Evening When The Sun Goes Down - Duke Henderson

  • 20 Preview Four O'Clock In The Morning - Gory Carter

  • 21 Preview Mellow Scat - Bebopper Lulu and her Orchestra

  • 22 Preview Blue And Disgusted - Ira Amos

  • 23 Preview In The Oven - Teddy Bunn with the Hootie McShann Trio

  • 24 Preview Don't Want Nobody Else - The Herb Fisher Trio

  • 25 Preview Jump Me Some Boogie - Luke Jones & His Orchestra

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


An essential purchase. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought