Girls Go Power Pop! Various Artists (Power Pop Gems)


Power Pop
Big Beat
Catalogue Id:

Nothing shakes some action like a snappy guitar-based pop song delivered with a powerful beat, boundless energy and joyous enthusiasm … especially when performed by girls!

“Come On Let’s Go!”, our survey of power pop gems from the 70s and 80s, was one of Ace’s best sellers of 2019, with critics lavishing four and five star reviews upon the compilation. However, we grew to rue the lack of the female voice on the CD, with the Shivvers being the sole representative. With that in mind, we now unveil “Girls Go Power Pop!”, an entire collection of feminine decks from the 80s and 90s, all delivered with the kind of sassy pizazz you would expect from acts such as the Go-Go’s and the Bangles.

From those giants of the genre we have the #2 smash ‘We Got The Beat’ and, by contrast, the Bangles’ second 45 from 1983, ‘The Real World’, when the band were just starting out and yet to be noticed. The Runaways were certainly noticed, but their marvellous ‘Cherry Bomb’ failed to detonate and never was the smash hit it should have been. A different fate awaited Chrissie Hynde’s Pretenders, who enjoyed a long run of international hits, one of their best being the oft-overlooked ‘Night In My Veins’, on which we are delighted to shine a light. We also have the Textones, who have the distinction of cutting the original recording of ‘Vacation’, which the Go-Go’s would later take to the Top 10.

For those who like to discover more obscure names, there are little-known delights from the “B” Girls, Little Girls, MnMs, Fuzzy and Universal Honey, which all bristle with invention and quirky pop appeal. Influences come from far and wide, often harking back to earlier times. Mick Jones of the Clash produced the “B” Girls’ ‘Boys Are Drinking’, but “We were lumped in with punk, but we were pop” band member Cynthia Ross declared – indeed, their main influences were the Ronettes and the Shangri-Las. Similarly, Nikki & the Corvettes “wanted to be the Ramones meets the Shangri-Las”.

The Pandoras and the Muffs represent the garage-band end of the equation, although they inject the essential quality of pop melody into ‘That’s Your Way Out’ and ‘Everywhere I Go’. On the other side of the coin, pure pop confection is brought to us by the Rebel Pebbles’ enchanting ‘Dream Lover’, Josie Cotton’s beguiling revival of the Looking Glass’ 70s hit ‘Jimmy Loves Maryann’, and Scandal’s ultra-catchy ‘Goodbye To You’, which clings like sugar to a jam donut.

We predict that “Girls Go Power Pop!” is destined to be loved by fans of power pop and cherished by aficionados of girl-pop. Anyone with an ear for a good tune and a taste for snappy, guitar-based pop should grab this real fast. Girls rule, OK!



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Cherry Bomb - The Runaways

  • 02 Preview We Got The Beat - Go-Go's

  • 03 Preview He's A Mover - Nikki & The Corvettes

  • 04 Preview Hit The Ground - The Darling Buds

  • 05 Preview Goodbye To You - Scandal

  • 06 Preview Dream Lover - The Rebel Pebbles

  • 07 Preview Just Before Mary Goes - Universal Honey

  • 08 Preview Jimmy Loves Maryann - Josie Cotton

  • 09 Preview Way Behind Me - The Primitives

  • 10 Preview Everybody Loves Me But You - Juliana Hatfield

  • 11 Preview Knock Knock Knock - MnMs

  • 12 Preview Everywhere I Go - The Muffs

  • 13 Preview Night In My Veins - The Pretenders

  • 14 Preview Earthquake Song - Little Girls

  • 15 Preview The Real World - Bangles

  • 16 Preview Boys Are Drinking - The "B" Girls

  • 17 Preview Glad Again - Fuzzy

  • 18 Preview Too Late To Be Good - The Tuesdays

  • 19 Preview Peach Window - Julianna Raye

  • 20 Preview Do You Have Fun? - The Photos

  • 21 Preview Cruel To Be Kind - Letters To Cleo

  • 22 Preview Vacation - The Textones

  • 23 Preview That's Your Way Out - The Pandoras

  • 24 Preview Lipstuck - Eve's Plum

  • 25 Preview I Wanna Go Home - Holly & The Italians

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought