Girls With Guitars Gonna Shake! Various Artists (Girls With Guitars)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1608

Ten genuine all-girl bands join forces with similar 60s females of the species on this new volume in our ear-grabbing “Girls With Guitars” series, providing further confirmation that girls can do what the guys do. The CD kicks off in great style with three of the best tracks to feature in the series so far: the Belles’ ‘Melvin’, a great gender-switched version of Van Morrison’s ‘Gloria’; a rendering of John Lee Hooker’s ‘Dimples’ by the Missfits; and Girls Take Over’s uninhibited proto-punk treatment of Tommy Tucker’s ‘Hi Heel Sneakers’. The Missfits, a young five-piece from Blackpool with a taste for R&B, also tackle Bo Diddley’s ‘You Can’t Judge A Book By The Cover’ and ‘Chuck Berry’s ‘I’m Talking About You’; all three of their tracks are previously unreleased.

For the record, lest anyone’s keeping tally, the other featured guitar-toting all-girl bands are She, Goldie & the Gingerbreads, the Debutantes, the Liverbirds, the Beat-Chics, the Ace Of Cups and the Mysteries. Elsewhere, Debbie Williams sings lead with the all-male Unwritten Law, ballsy-voiced Joyce Harris is backed byTexasbar band the Daylighters, the teenage Chymes trio are accompanied by the un-billed Turtles and, well, you get the picture. Naturally, those so inclined can learn more about all the artists in the accompanying 24-page booklet containing a picture-packed 4,000-word track commentary by series compiler Mick Patrick.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Melvin - The Belles

  • 02 Preview Dimples - The Missfits

  • 03 Preview Hi Heel Sneakers - Girls Take Over

  • 04 Preview Don't Leave Me Baby - She

  • 05 Preview What Kind Of Man Are You - Goldie & The Gingerbreads

  • 06 Preview Little Latin Lupe Lu - The Debutantes

  • 07 Preview Diddley Daddy - The Liverbirds

  • 08 Preview Now I Know - The Beat-Chics

  • 09 Preview Circles - The Ace Of Cups

  • 10 Preview Give Me Rhythm And Blues - The Mysteries

  • 11 Preview You Can't Judge A Book By The Cover - The Missfits

  • 12 Preview We Gotta Get Out Of This Place - The Debutantes

  • 13 Preview Ask Me - Debbie Williams & The Unwritten Law

  • 14 Preview I Don't Know Why - The Wrongh Black Bag

  • 15 Preview I Got My Mojo Working - Joyce Harris & The Daylighters

  • 16 Preview Pink Dominos - Chiyo & The Crescents

  • 17 Preview Really Gonna Shake - Sandra Barry & The Boys

  • 18 Preview Come Back - The Belles

  • 19 Preview Skinny Minnie - The Beat-Chics

  • 20 Preview Never Till Now - The Bootles

  • 21 Preview I'm Talking About You - The Missfits

  • 22 Preview Love Seems So Hard To Find - Debbie Williams & The Unwritten Law

  • 23 Preview Quite A Reputation - The Chymes

  • 24 Preview Wake Me, Shake Me - The Wrongh Black Bag

  • 25 Preview Stardust Come Back - Girls Take Over

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought