Good All Over: Rare Soul From The Westbound Records Vaults 1969-1975 Various Artists (Westbound)


Modern Soul
Catalogue Id:

"Good All Over” is a selection of rare soul sides culled from Westbound’s vaults and is the companion to the Kent CD “Westbound Detroit Northern Soul”. It brings together a strong cross section of performers with a long association with Westbound. Some are among the most recognisable names in 1970s soul, others will be known to very few. But all played their part in making Westbound one of the most musically consistent labels of its time – as you will hear.

The compilation spans the first six years of the company’s 10-year existence and includes many hard-to-find releases, plus a generous number of tracks that have not been available on CD before. Among those featured are early signings the Magictones, Emanuel Lasky and the Detroit Emeralds. A.C. Tilmon of the Detroit Emeralds is also featured on two solo sides, plus a hitherto unreleased duet with Westbound’s first lady, Denise LaSalle. You will also hear from several artists who worked closely with Tilmon, such as the Motivations and Damon Shawn, along with the Fantastic Four, who were signed to Westbound for longer than any other act and still with the label when it closed for business in 1979.

“Good All Over” does not feature every major Westbound artist but you wouldn’t really expect the hard funk of the Ohio Players or the musical lunacy of Funkadelic on a CD devoted to straight-ahead soul. What it does contain is plenty of great music from the most significant and consistently successful record company to operate in Detroit after Motown upped sticks and relocated to the West Coast.

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I'm Falling In Love (I Feel Good All Over) - Fantastic Four

  • 02 Preview Tender Moments - A.C. Tilmon & Denise LaSalle

  • 03 Preview Mommy And Daddy - Unique Blend

  • 04 Preview I Don't Know How (To Say I Love You) - The Superlatives

  • 05 Preview Trying Real Hard (To Make The Grade) - Magictones

  • 06 Preview I Love You - Motivations

  • 07 Preview I Love To Dream - A.C. Tilmon

  • 08 Preview If You Need Me Call Me (And I'll Come Running) - Fantastic Four

  • 09 Preview What Am I Going To Do - Houston Outlaws

  • 10 Preview My Dreams Have Got The Best Of Me - Magictones

  • 11 Preview More Love (Where This Came From) - Emanuel Laskey

  • 12 Preview You Can't Take This Love For You From Me - Bob & Harold

  • 13 Preview Rosetta Stone - A.C. Tilmon & The Detroit Emeralds

  • 14 Preview I'm Wishing - Damon Shawn

  • 15 Preview I'll Make It Up To You - Magictones

  • 16 Preview I'm Loving You - You're Leaving Me - Motivations

  • 17 Preview I've Changed - The Magictones

  • 18 Preview That's All I Got - A.C. Tilmon & the Detroit Emeralds

  • 19 Preview I Believe In Miracles (I Believe In You) - Fantastic Four

  • 20 Preview Does He Treat You Better - Unique Blend

  • 21 Preview Girl You Thrill Me - A.C. Tilmon

  • 22 Preview Old Fashioned Woman - Unique Blend

  • 23 Preview Admit Your Love Is Gone - Damon Shawn

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought