Hard To Explain: More Shattered Dreams Various Artists (Shattered Dreams)


Catalogue Id:

We were pleased when our “Shattered Dreams” collection proved to be a good seller. It had been compiled on something of a whim to examine how blues developed during the late 60s and 70s, a period when it had fallen out of fashion.

Blues records were being issued most often for regional independent labels in areas with established blues scenes, such as Los Angeles and Chicago. They weren’t released with the charts in mind, but were part of the strategy to keep the artist in the public eye and maybe earn them a gig, or a place on local jukeboxes. For years these later blues records were seen as hybrids and largely ignored, until young funk collectors hungry for new sounds started to pick them up.

“Hard To Explain” covers a variety of styles, all influenced to some degree by aspects of the American black music spectrum. Jimmy Robins, Ray Agee and Big Daddy Rucker slow things down and give us blues enriched by deep soul ballads, whereas Earl Wright, Larry Davis, Tommy Youngblood and others update the R&B dancer. On the funkier side, we open with Freddy Robinson, who remade his hit ‘The Creeper’ with the help of Isaac Hayes’ backing band the Movement, while Albert King totally transforms James Brown’s ‘Cold Sweat’. Other stars of the compilation include Smokey Wilson, Finis Tasby, Artie White and Jimmy McCracklin, who all help prove that the blues didn’t die in the 70s, but instead adapted to what was going on in the world at large. This immediacy still shines through today, making this another vital collection from a sometimes less fondly remembered era in blues history.

By Dean Rudland


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview The Creeper - Freddy Robinson

  • 02 Preview Gimme Some Of Yours (I'll Give You Some Of Mine) - Artie White

  • 03 Preview You Upset Me Baby - Larry Davis

  • 04 Preview Walk On - Finis Tasby

  • 05 Preview Getting Down - Obrey Wilson

  • 06 Preview It's Hard To Explain - Ray Agee

  • 07 Preview Don't Down Me People (Pt 1) - Memphis Soul

  • 08 Preview Lovemaker - Lowell Fulsom

  • 09 Preview Cold Sweat - Albert King

  • 10 Preview I Want You - Smokey Wilson

  • 11 Preview I Don't Understand It - Ice Water Slim & The Fourth Floor

  • 12 Preview Go Go Train - Smokey Wilson

  • 13 Preview He Made You Mine - Big Daddy Rucker

  • 14 Preview Find Something Else To Do - Finis Tasby

  • 15 Preview Getting' Down With The Game - Adolph Jacobs

  • 16 Preview I Finally Got You - Jimmy McCracklin

  • 17 Preview Them Love Blues - Earl Wright

  • 18 Preview Hey Little Girl - Tommy Youngblood

  • 19 Preview Sister Rose - Shakey Jake Harris

  • 20 Preview It's Real (Pt 1) - Jimmy Robins

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector



Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought