Hurdy Gurdy Songs - Words & Music By Donovan 1965-1971 Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1595

A kaleidoscopic trip into the craft of one of the most covered and influential British songwriters of the 60s. Includes eclectic readings of hits and deep cuts, including some never recorded by Donovan himself.  

The latest in Ace Records’ popular Songwriters series is a kaleidoscopic trip into the craft of one of the most covered and influential artists of the 60s. The body of work he wrote and recorded during the golden period we celebrate on “Hurdy Gurdy Songs” has become one of the most critically and commercially successful of the era, and continues to attract new listeners and demand reappraisal; proof that Donovan – the psychedelic minstrel whose records coloured the late 60s pop landscape – was one of a kind. 

Painted by the pop press as a knock-off Dylan during his mid-60s breakthrough, Donovan could easily have contented himself with that opening brace of transatlantic hit singles, ‘Catch The Wind’ and ‘Colours’. Instead he began a startling reinvention that saw the Woody Guthrie and Ramblin’ Jack Elliott stylings jettisoned in favour of a poetic, experimental ideology inspired by his embrace of Zen Buddhism, esoteric writing and the burgeoning drug culture.  

What followed was a flood of songs that mirrored the kaleidoscopic thinking of the times. In December 1965, he recorded ‘Sunshine Superman’ at Abbey Road under the tutelage of producer Mickie Most, utilising a crack band of UK session players. The template had been set and would prove to be a winning formula that birthed five studio albums and 10 hit singles over the next four years. His esoteric new agenda increased his appeal and success instantly. His songs began attracting cover versions from every corner of the music world. High-profile folk artists, rock bands and pop acts plundered his catalogue with glee.  

His popularity soared in 1967, particularly in the US where the “Sunshine Superman” and “Mellow Yellow” albums were released in their intended form. UK listeners had to wait until the hybrid “Sunshine Superman” set to hear key Donovan recordings such as ‘Season Of The Witch’, ‘Celeste’ and ‘Young Girl Blues’ for the first time. A prolific writer, he gifted a number of songs to other artists: ‘You Just Gotta Know My Mind’ and ‘Snakeskin’ appear on our collection and serve to illustrate the widespread appeal of his material to female interpreters as diverse as Eartha Kitt, Peggy Lipton and Bridget St John.  

Donovan’s whirlwind journey through the second half of the 60s left him beaten and bruised but the music he created ­– in which the eclectic influences of pop, spirituality, poetry, magic and the spirit of the age found their way into these unique and enduring songs – continues to thrill and beguile today. 



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Museum - Herman's Hermits

  • 02 Preview Superlungs - Terry Reid

  • 03 Preview Sunny Goodge Street - Tom Northcott

  • 04 Preview The Pebble And The Man - Bridget St John

  • 05 Preview Sunshine Superman - The Standells

  • 06 Preview Hurdy Gurdy Man - Eartha Kitt

  • 07 Preview Young Girl Blues - Marianne Faithfull

  • 08 Preview Poor Cow - Noel Harrison

  • 09 Preview Celeste - Paul Jones

  • 10 Preview Season Of The Witch - Lou Rawls

  • 11 Preview Translove Airways (Fat Angel) - Big Jim Sullivan

  • 12 Preview You Just Gotta Know My Mind - Dana Gillespie

  • 13 Preview Oh Gosh - Sandie Shaw

  • 14 Preview There Is A Mountain - Dandy

  • 15 Preview Try And Catch The Wind - The Gosdin Brothers

  • 16 Preview Skip-A-Long Sam - The Sugar Shoppe

  • 17 Preview Snakeskin - Julie Felix

  • 18 Preview Hey Gyp (Dig The Slowness) - Keith Shields

  • 19 Preview Three King Fishers - Gábor Szabó

  • 20 Preview Hampstead Incident - Bojoura

  • 21 Preview Wear Your Love Like Heaven - Peggy Lipton

  • 22 Preview Jennifer Juniper - The Sandpipers

  • 23 Preview Legend Of A Girl Child Linda - Joan Baez with Judy Collins & Mimi Fariña

  • 24 Preview Laleña - Deep Purple

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought