Keb Darge Presents The Best Of Ace Sixties Garage Punk Various Artists (Keb Darge)


Psych / Garage
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CHD 1649

After the success of Keb Darge’s 2023 Ace Rockabilly compilation (CHD 1637) the legend returns with another collection of music close to his heart.

On “Keb Darge Presents The Best Of Ace Sixties Garage Punk” the smooth-headed maestro pulls open his curtains to reveal a selection of US garage stompers from the 60s. “Though there are a couple of “never before on vinyl” tunes here for serious collectors, this compilation is aimed at those folk who are just getting into it,” states Keb “I have picked a selection of my favourites from the nice cheap and easy to find stuff up to the four figure and bloody hard to find stuff.” Artists like the Hooterville Trolley, the Litter, the Music Machine, the Venturie 5, the Lyrics and the Nightcrawers reflect back light towards British invasion bands like the Who, the Kinks and the Rolling Stones, home-grown garage flowers and the dark end of the psychedelic street. Laced with fuzzed guitar, enthusiasm, a driving beat and an attitude that was proto-punk this music remains fresh and is already being embraced by a new generation.

With liner notes from Keb and housed in a sleeve by Robin Banks −who also did the artwork for Keb’s Rockabilly compilation − this is an essential purchase.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Action Woman - The Litter

  • 02 Preview Hang It Out To Dry - Bud & Kathy

  • 03 Preview Come See Me - Sandy Edmonds

  • 04 Preview Sweet Young Thing - The Chocolate Watchband

  • 05 Preview The People In Me - The Music Machine

  • 06 Preview I - The Knight Riders

  • 07 Preview It's Up To You - The Shillings

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Good 'N' Bad - The Venturie "5"

  • 02 Preview No Silver Bird - The Hooterville Trolley

  • 03 Preview Grey Zone - The Fog

  • 04 Preview They Can't Hurt Me - The Lyrics

  • 05 Preview Who Knows - The Nightcrawlers

  • 06 Preview She's Gone - Tormentors

  • 07 Preview Too Late To Kiss You Now - The Cords

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought