Lofts & Garages - Spring Records And The Birth Of Dance Music Various Artists (Lofts & Garages)


Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Lofts & Garages - Spring Records And The Birth Of Dance Music, LP (£18.43)
Lofts & Garages - Spring Records And The Birth Of Dance Music (MP3), MP3 (£7.90)

As disco died, New York’s clubland looked to the future and created the blueprint for the dance music that took over the world. Spring Records and its Posse subsidiary were well placed to discover the latest trends and those behind them. This album shows them working with many future greats, from Arthur Baker to Timmy Regisford and Michael Jonzun.

1980s New York was where modern dance music took its first steps – a phoenix rising out of the ashes of disco’s over-exposure and demise. The underground scene was the very opposite of the celebrity-sprinkled commercialism of Studio 54 – “Lofts & Garages” looks at how the Spring label, with its brand new 1980s subsidiary Posse, reacted to the new movement. 

As an independent New York label, Spring was perfectly placed to understand new trends in the clubs. It worked with some of those who would go on to define the dance music of the era and, for a glorious summer, tracked the important early work of Arthur Baker, Maurice Starr and Michael Jonzun, who began their careers producing acts such as Ritz, Glory and Blaze: records that sounded perfect for 12-inch singles and mixed electronic instruments with a real feel for the dancefloor.

Spring mainstays Fatback were always searching for a new groove and kept an eye on the floor. Their final single for the label, ‘Spread Love’, was remixed by Morales and Munzibai. Fatback’s Bill Curtis and Gerry Thomas also produced the sought-after boogie single ‘Get Up An’ Dance (Dance With Me)’ for Mynk.

Others featured here include one of the most distinctive voices in dance music, Fonda Rae, with her single ‘Live It Up’, released here in its rare radio edit; veteran soul man Lonnie Youngblood with his gospel-influenced ‘Sing A Song’; Detroit dance pioneers C-Brand’s ‘Wired For Games’; and Body’s ‘Have Your Cake’, which has an early mixing credit for dance music legend Timmy Regisford.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Wired For Games (Long Version) - C-Brand

  • 02 Preview Workin' Out (Vocal) - Ritz

  • 03 Preview Live It Up (Short Vocal Version) - Fonda Rae

  • 04 Preview Got To Have Your Lovin' (Short Vocal Version) - Feel

  • 05 Preview Get Up An' Dance (Dance With Me) (Vocal) - Mynk

  • 06 Preview Spread Love (Vocal) - Fatback

  • 07 Preview Let's Get Nice (7-inch Vocal Version) - Glory

  • 08 Preview We Come To Jam (Vocal) - Blaze

  • 09 Preview Have Your Cake (Vocal) - Body

  • 10 Preview Sing A Song - Lonnie Youngblood

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought