London Street Soul 1988-2009. 21 Years Of Acid Jazz Records Various Artists (Acid Jazz)


Acid Jazz
Catalogue Id:

Paul Weller, the Brand New Heavies, Leftfield, the JTQ, Mica Paris, the Young Disciples, Alison Limerick, Max Beesley, Moloko and members of Jamiroquai are just some of the artists that turn up on this celebration of the 21st Birthday of one of the most influential independent labels of the 1990s and beyond. “London Street Soul” is a look at the heavily soul-influenced output of Ed Piller’s label. A modernist vision, embracing a gritty mix of soul, beats and retro influences learned in clubs such as Talking Loud at Dingwalls, that at its height not only encompassed world-wide hits, but also ownership of London’s Blue Note nightclub (declared by Time Out in 2000 to be the club of the Millennium).

Acid Jazz was a resolutely London label, mod to its core in the widest definition of that word, and absolutely dedicated to soul music. In the early part of the decade this served it well. Records by the Brand New Heavies and Jamiroquai were lauded by the music monthlies, soul publications and style press, but when Brit-pop arrived in 1994 and the inkies returned to the fore as the repository of musical wisdom, soft southern soul boy music was not a popular genre and the label began to be overlooked. The label started to experiment with different forms of music – all with soul roots but rarely appealing to the pure soul boy.

The music on this compilation tells the story of the label from its earliest hits such as the beat-laden ‘I’m The One’ by D-Influence and the Brand New Heavies’ ‘Never Stop’ - here in the chart-bothering David Morales 7” mix – through to its recent top 40 hit by Andy Lewis and Paul Weller and on into this year’s great hope, Twisted Tongue. Along the way we come across the very first production by Leftfield, Sandals’ ‘Profound Gas’. The 7” mix has never been released before. Also included is the largely forgotten performance by Brit-soul diva Mica Paris in a wonderful duet with Mr Exe and most of the Young Disciples hooked up with Max Beesley in the Subteranneans. Cloud Nine were Mark Brydon’s project prior to the chart topping Moloko; that fell apart when a sampling problem drove them asunder.

The great Acid Jazz acts are all here including JTQ with Alison Limerick on the modern soul classic ‘Love Will Keep Us Together’ and Mother Earth with the Brendan Lynch radio mix of ‘Jesse’. There are also several lesser known gems that shine through, including the wonderful ‘Lovesick’ by the Nightrains, the jazzy soul of Pure Wildness and the Sun Ra space soul of the Emperor’s New Clothes.

In 2009 Acid Jazz is looking hit-worthy again. The next volume will be “London Street Beats” and the series will culminate with “London Street Jazz” a trio that celebrates the label’s heart and soul.

By Dean Rudland


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Are You Trying To Be Lonely - Andy Lewis & Paul Weller

  • 02 Preview Lovesick - Night Trains feat Marcia Johnson

  • 03 Preview Love Will Keep Us Together (radio mix) - The James Taylor Quartet feat Alison Limerick

  • 04 Preview Never Stop (7" single mix) - The Brand New Heavies feat N'Dea Davenport

  • 05 Preview Peace & Love - Cloud Nine feat Janette Sewell

  • 06 Preview I'm The One - D-Influence

  • 07 Preview Watch My Garden Grow - The Humble Souls

  • 08 Preview Taurus Woman - The Subterraneans feat Mardou Fox & Jonzi

  • 09 Preview Couldn't Take The Missing You - Jessica Lauren

  • 10 Preview Tears Inside - The Emperor's New Clothes

  • 11 Preview Jesse (Brendan Lynch Radio Mix) - Mother Earth

  • 12 Preview Mindbeam   - Twisted Tongue

  • 13 Preview Ain't No Use - Pure Wildness

  • 14 Preview One Million Smiles - Mr Exe feat Mica Paris

  • 15 Preview Conscience - Double Vision

  • 16 Preview Someplace Else - Jinrai

  • 17 Preview A Profound Gas - Sandals

  • 18 Preview Everybody Knows - Akimbo

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Rarely has such a fine balance between reckless passion and sophisticated, genre-defying music been so finely distilled. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought