Masterpieces Of Modern Soul Vol 5 Various Artists (Masterpieces of Modern Soul)


70s Soul
Catalogue Id:

Masterpieces is back with a cross-section of all that’s good on the Modern Soul scene.
Full of exclusive gems like the Mighty Whites’ unreleased master ‘Given My Life’ from Los Angeles which would eventually see life in an inferior recording by Brotherhood on MCA in 1978. It’s been played on acetate across Europe and is widely admired. A more modern version of ‘Rainmaker’, as popularised on Kent LPs in the 80s, is featured by Detroit’s C.J. & Co. and that city also provides a fabulous groove on ‘Ride The Disco Train’, a never-heard-before secular update of the ever-popular Tolbert Family gospel 45.
Jazzman Leon Thomas reminds us that Northern Soul clubs weren’t all baggies and spins with his ever-popular shuffler ‘L. O. V. E.’, while Major Lance’s ‘That’s The Story Of My Life’ is a 70s record that features the best of the classic soul sound. Millie Jackson’s ‘I’ll Continue To Love You’ also belies its release date, in this case 1976 but sounding almost 1969; fast feet needed here. Some social commentary features on Lee Porter’s now in-demand Memphis waxing ‘Nobody’s Doin’ A Doggone Thing’.
It’s the digital debut for Ray Dahrouge’s excellent first session on the Street People which yielded two terrific sides and this unreleased gem. Eddie Floyd’s unissued Stax outing was featured on a long-deleted CD but deserves a re-listen now the edit is more apt, as is the case with Eon’s LP track which stretched on fine on their solo CD but benefits from a short back and sides here. John Edwards’ original of Corey Blake’s ‘How Can I Go On Without You’ is well-known but has never made a Masterpieces set, while Loleatta Holloway’s catchy and unusual ‘Mrs So And So’s Daughter’ also receives an edit and re-run.
Dave Hamilton’s Detroit stable takes us into the 80s with the little-known Felicia Johnson cut ‘Franchise On Love’ and New Experience’s unissued ‘I Believe’. A surprise sleeper is Will Hatcher’s ‘What Is Best For Me Is Better For You’ which has been overshadowed by its brilliant flip ‘Who Am I Without You Baby’; this comes close to matching it after a few plays – a real grower. There’s a brand-new version of ‘I Ain’t Giving Up’, the song Ray Godfrey wrote for both Joe Simon and Millie Jackson, by the man himself, and Part 2 of Herman Davis’ two-stepper ‘Gotta Be Loved’ debuts on CD.
A terrific mix of sounds from the early 70s right through to the 80s; as a collection they are irresistible.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Given My Life - Mighty Whites

  • 02 Preview L-O-V-E - Leon Thomas

  • 03 Preview Rainmaker - C.J. & Co.

  • 04 Preview How Can I Go On Without You - John Edwards

  • 05 Preview Your Momma Had A Baby - Street People

  • 06 Preview Lucky Fellow - The Independents

  • 07 Preview Can We Talk It Over (edit) - Eddie Floyd

  • 08 Preview What Is Best For Me Is Better For You - Will Hatcher

  • 09 Preview That's The Story Of My Life - Major Lance

  • 10 Preview I'll Continue To Love You (edit) - Millie Jackson

  • 11 Preview Mrs So And So's Daughter (edit) - Loleatta Holloway

  • 12 Preview Franchise On Love - Felecia Johnson & T.S.B. Inc.

  • 13 Preview Keep On Doin' Whatcha' Doin' (Pt 1) - Ty Karim & George Griffin

  • 14 Preview Ride The Disco Train - The Moderations

  • 15 Preview A Star In The Ghetto - Foxfire featuring Johnny Adams

  • 16 Preview Nobody's Doin' A Doggone Thing - Lee Porter & Peaceful Persuasion

  • 17 Preview Dose Of Soul - Chet Ivey & His Fabulous Avengers

  • 18 Preview I Ain't Givin' Up - Ray Godfrey

  • 19 Preview We'll Go On (edit) - Eon

  • 20 Preview I'll Live My Life Loving You - The Headliners

  • 21 Preview Gotta Be Loved Pt 2 - Herman Davis

  • 22 Preview Hello Stranger - Reggie Milner

  • 23 Preview I Believe - New Experience feat Elayne Starr

  • 24 Preview I Guess God Wants It This Way - Freddie Scott

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought