New Breed R&B - Saturday Night Special Various Artists (New Breed R&B)


New Breed R&B
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
New Breed R&B - Saturday Night Special Sampler (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

The master tapes reveal more great New Breed R&B dance exclusives – plus rare records and elusive CD offerings from the past.

New Breed is back with a historical bang. The opening track and title inspiration is Aaron Collins & the Teen Queens’ ‘Every Saturday Night’. Its R&B pedigree is inestimable; Collins was a member of Los Angeles vocal group the Flairs/Flares and wrote songs for Z.Z. Hill, Jackie Day, Cookie Jackson and others. Ray Charles recorded his ‘Every Saturday Night’ for ABC in 1972. The Modern tape vaults have given up this original 1966 R&B take of the song with Collins and his sisters, the Teen Queens, performing at their best – all the more remarkable as Rosie and Betty had not recorded since 1962 and it was to be their last session, both dying tragically a few years later.

More unissued beauties come from East Coast outfit the Corvairs with ‘I’ll Never Do It Again’, ‘Satisfied’ by Oakland’s funky bluesman Johnny Talbot, Gay Meadows’ Atlanta-recorded ‘Head Doctor’, and gems by obscure Ohio R&B outfits Pee Wee Foster, Little Macey & the Valiants and Big Charley & the Domans. Rare 45s come in the shape of Curly Mays’ ‘I’m Walkin’ On’, Pat Garvis’ ‘Turn Your Lamp Down Low’, ‘Triple Zero’ by Esko Wallace and ‘Your Yah-Yah Is Gone’ by New Jersey girl group the Tren-Teens. There are tracks from Ace CDs that went largely undiscovered by the New Breed crowd from Prince Conley, the Lon-Genes and Rob Robinson. Other highlights include the very recently discovered Freddie Williams track ‘Purty Little Mama’ recorded for Norman Petty in New York, Slim & the Twilights’ New Orleans-sounding ‘Family Man’ and Tony Clarke’s early Detroit rocker ‘Love Must Be Taboo’, all presented digitally from master tape for the first time. The booklet features stunning photos of Margaret Lewis, Flora D, the Metallics, Rob Robinson and Johnny “Guitar” Watson, along with some fax ’n’ info for the serious Breeder.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Every Saturday Night - Aaron Collins & The Teen Queens

  • 02 Preview I'll Never Do It Again - The Corvairs

  • 03 Preview Ain't That Good - Prince Conley

  • 04 Preview Compact Baby - Rob Robinson

  • 05 Preview Triple Zero - Esko Wallace

  • 06 Preview Purty Li'l Mama - Freddie Williams

  • 07 Preview Somethin's Wrong Baby - Margaret Lewis

  • 08 Preview Way Out Baby - Flora D

  • 09 Preview Family Man - Slim & The Twilites

  • 10 Preview You're Gonna Need Me - Big Charley & The Domans

  • 11 Preview Wait A Minute Baby - Johnny "Guitar" Watson

  • 12 Preview Almost Midnight (Take 3) - King Solomon

  • 13 Preview Show Me How To Shake Like That - The Lon-Genes

  • 14 Preview Head Doctor - Gay Meadows

  • 15 Preview You Can Be My Honey - Pee Wee Foster

  • 16 Preview Turn The Lamps Down Low - Pat Garvis

  • 17 Preview Your Yah-Yah Is Gone - The Tren-Teens

  • 18 Preview The Long John - Jarvis Jackson

  • 19 Preview Tighten Up & Pull Yourself Together - Sterling Magee

  • 20 Preview Satisfied - Johnny Talbot

  • 21 Preview Love Must Be Taboo - Tony Clarke

  • 22 Preview I'll Conquer The World - J D Wright & The Metallics

  • 23 Preview Walking The Track - Little Macey & The Valiants

  • 24 Preview I'm Walkin' On - Curly Mays

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought