Northern Soul's Guilty Secrets Various Artists (Themes)


Northern Soul
Catalogue Id:

Us Brits take our music very (very) seriously. It is often part of a whole scene which can include fashion, drug habits, social events and in the extreme, a whole ethos. We are very protective of something we put so much time and effort into and criticism goes to the core.

The Northern Soul scene started over four decades ago and was never meant to be more than a passing fad. It just got so good we couldn’t bear to let go, or grow up. We still have an emotional attachment to records played by teenagers to teenagers an eon ago. The music was all brand new to us at that time and being brought up in a culture thousands of miles away from its source, we had to make it up as we went along. Knowledge was limited and we had no idea of the circumstances or origins of the recordings. For all we knew, Barnaby Bye could have come straight outta Philly’s black ghetto. Actually, we wouldn’t have cared had we known they had long hair and flares; the beat and sound was all. Dance records were what we wanted. They were usually based on the classic Motown sound, but we veered off up many a dark musical alley. Soul revisionism didn’t happen until the momentum and euphoria finally calmed down in the late 70s.

I think all of the tracks on here were first played in the early 70s days of the scene (the Rumblers may have been a bit later) but hardly any of them have been played as oldies since. They’ve been airbrushed from our musical history. These are the ones we’ve removed from the DJ box, but left close to hand for that nostalgia trip. I can understand why more serious music fans look down on some of these tracks, but it really is their loss.

Ann D’Andrea is so basic I thought they’d sent a demo take, but what an uplifting bouncy, catchy number it is. I recently had a discussion about David & the Giants with a serious soul fan, who claimed their record’s appeal was down to the Fame studio musicians and production. I’m sure that was him trying to justify his love of it. I think it’s the way the group captured the essence and exuberance of young love that makes it.

That same goes for Kiki Dee’s ‘On A Magic Carpet Ride’. As a longhaired left-wing member of the Market Harborough underground in the late 60s, I couldn’t have pictured myself raving about a song featuring “rainbow’s end” lyrics in later years. John Fred’s ‘Hey Hey Bunny’ sounds like an early bubblegum record, but what fun and, if you’re a dancer, a great one to burn some energy off to.

I beg you to get past the artists and titles that have repelled you for years and give this maligned side of Northern Soul an honest appraisal. If it gets one grumpy soul stalwart skipping across the kitchen to ‘Put Me In Your Pocket’ it’ll all have been worthwhile.

By Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Don't Stop Lookin' - Ann D'Andrea

  • 02 Preview You Touched Me - Judy Harris

  • 03 Preview Can't Live This Way (LP version) - Barnaby Bye

  • 04 Preview Ten Miles High - David & The Giants

  • 05 Preview Keeps On Burning - The Burning Bush

  • 06 Preview Seven Days Of Loving You - Johnny Vanelli

  • 07 Preview Soulful Jerk - The Rumblers

  • 08 Preview It's Too Late - Bobby Goldsboro

  • 09 Preview I Struck It Rich - Len Barry

  • 10 Preview You've Come A Long Way Baby - Flower Shoppe

  • 11 Preview You Sexy Sugar Plum (But I LIke It) - Rodger Collins

  • 12 Preview Bumpin' And Stompin' - Garland Green

  • 13 Preview Elusive - Babe Ruth

  • 14 Preview On A Magic Carpet Ride - Kiki Dee

  • 15 Preview Put Me In Your Pocket - Jeanette Harper

  • 16 Preview Hey Hey Bunny - John Fred & His Playboy Band

  • 17 Preview Pushin' Too Hard - The Seeds

  • 18 Preview Don't Let It Slip Away - Ral Donner

  • 19 Preview I Can Take Care Of Myself - The Spyders

  • 20 Preview Walk Tall Like A Man - 2 Of Clubs

  • 21 Preview Would She Do That For You - Mary Saenz

  • 22 Preview Run Baby Run (Back Into My Arms) - The Newbeats

  • 23 Preview Daylight Savin' Time - Keith

  • 24 Preview Livin' Above Your Head - Jay & The Americans

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes





Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought