Playin' Hard To Get Various Artists (Challenge Records)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

The Challenge label was formed in 1957 by singing cowboy actor Gene Autry. Though the company's most successful act was the instrumental group The Champs (with the No 1 hit Tequila), Challenge also recorded surf music, garage bands and, as this compilation readily testifies, some mighty fine girl vocal groups and solo singers.Of particular interest here are the sides by The Blossoms. With the exception of I'll Wait, the featured lead is by Darlene Wright. Phil Spector re-christened her Darlene Love and recorded her anonymously (along with various Blossoms) as The Crystals on the No 1 hit He's A Rebel and (with friend Bobby Sheen) as Bob B Soxx & The Blue Jeans on Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah.Donna Loren became nationally famous as the girl on a thousand Dr Pepper's billboards and for her modestly-clad roles in several beach movies of the surf era. One of the songs she sings here - Muscle Bustle - comes from the collective pen of surf legends Roger Christian, Gary Usher and Beach Boy Brian Wilson.Dorothy Berry, one-time Raelette and ex-wife of Richard Berry, delivers a diamond-hard coupling of the David Gates-penned Crying On My Pillow and a Wall-Of-Sound version of The Falcons' You're So Fine.The Delicates' five sides embrace a wide range of styles including Chicago dancers, soulful ballad and gospel rave-up. They went on to become sessions singers at Motown Records.If the West Coast never produced the level of girl group chart activity that happened on the East Coast (particularly in New York), this Challenge compilation shows that it wasn't either for lack of trying nor a shortage of available talent.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview You're So Fine - Dorothy Berry

  • 02 Preview A Little Bit Of Soap - Yvonne Carroll

  • 03 Preview Stop Shovin' Me Around - The Delicates

  • 04 Preview Dream World - Donna Lauren

  • 05 Preview Crying On My Pillow - Dorothy Berry

  • 06 Preview He's A Big Deal - Renee Medina

  • 07 Preview Goodbye Jimmie - Panda Berry

  • 08 Preview You Haven't Seen Nothing - Dee Dee Young

  • 09 Preview Don't Mess Around With Me - Sister Rachel

  • 10 Preview Nothing To Write Home About - The Francettes

  • 11 Preview Love Bells - The Galens

  • 12 Preview Date Bait - Diane Maxwell

  • 13 Preview You Better Watch Out Boy - The Accents

  • 14 Preview Chinese Lanterns - The Galens

  • 15 Preview The Boy I Love - Renee Medina

  • 16 Preview Write Me A Letter - The Blossoms

  • 17 Preview I've Been Hurt - The Delicates

  • 18 Preview How Long Must This Fool Pay - Yvonne Carroll

  • 19 Preview I'll Wait - The Blossoms

  • 20 Preview I Want To Get Married - The Delicates

  • 21 Preview The Search Is Over - The Blossoms

  • 22 Preview Hard To Get - The Blossoms

  • 23 Preview Come On Everybody - The Delicates

  • 24 Preview I Gotta Tell It - The Blossoms

  • 25 Preview Big Talkin' Jim - The Blossoms

  • 26 Preview Mr Loveman - Yvonne Carroll

  • 27 Preview Comin' Down With Love - The Delicates

  • 28 Preview Muscle Bustle - Donna Loren

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought