Rare Collectable And Soulful Various Artists (RCA)


Northern Soul
Catalogue Id:

Ever since me and Roger Armstrong got wedged into the Scepter /Wand / Musicor vaults about twelve years ago and came away with unreleased recordings like Maxine Brown's Torture, Chuck Jackson's What's With This Loneliness and Melba Moore's The Magic Touch, I've been hooked on hearing those kind of tapes that haven't been aired for thirty years but damn well should have been.

From time to time I've had a nice tickle like Carla Thomas' magnificent unissued Stax recording I'll Never Stop Loving You (featured on Do The Crossover Baby CDKEND 105), or even the big batch of unreleased Aware/Hotlanta tapes by Sam Dees (CDKEND 125), John Edwards (CDKEND 127) and Loleatta Holloway (CDKEND 135). However, those fell on my doorstep, rather than having me delve through old scotch tapes boxes to unearth them. So it wasn't until a full 10 years on from my first serious fix that I was to fully satisfy my craving. Although I didn't actually make it into the vault to get my fingernails dirty, I was there in a New York studio when tape boxes from 1966 were opened for the first time since the tracks were laid down and their full glory was revealed to me. I got to touch the boxes and reels, was able to copy down all the information contained thereon and, joy upon joy, saw the full session sheets that virtually put me back in the United Sound Studios, Detroit, at the peak of the soul music boom.

The songs themselves were of at least equal quality to the ones that actually did come out of these sessions and as these were Lorraine Chandler's I Can't Hold On, The Metros' Since I Found My Baby, Roy Hamilton's Reach Out For Me and Sharon Scott's Could It Be You, that was very high quality indeed. As RCA has a wealth of great soul records that have never made it on to CD, we've mixed in the unreleased with the released and spread the project over 2 volumes. (Vol 2 is CDKEND 156).

Highlights of the released tracks for me are The Insiders' I'm Just A Man, a vivacious well-crafted song performed by the boys who went on to become the Main Ingredient, one of the greatest of all the 70s vocal groups. Also Johnny Nash's Hugo and Luigi produced big ballad I'm Leaving from a different soul era but exquisitely made. The unreleased songs are all exciting but the one that always does it for me is Kenny Carter's original cut of What's That On Your Finger. I drone on about this one extensively on the sleevenotes so here I'll merely say that anyone who has already heard it will be buying the CD on the strength of this track alone. (Ady Croasdell)


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Ooh It Hurts Me - The Cavaliers

  • 02 Preview Push A Little Harder - The Metros

  • 03 Preview Change Your Ways - Willie Kendrick

  • 04 Preview What Can I Do - Lorraine Chandler

  • 05 Preview (Putting My Heart Under) Lock And Key - Sharon Scott

  • 06 Preview Take Me Away - Carolyn Cooke

  • 07 Preview What's That On Your Finger - Kenny Carter

  • 08 Preview It Hurts Too Much To Cry - H B Barnum

  • 09 Preview Today Is My Day - Dean Courtney

  • 10 Preview Since You're Gone - The Barons

  • 11 Preview Love Sick - The Dynamics

  • 12 Preview She'll Be Leaving You - Willie Kendrick

  • 13 Preview It's Better - Sharon Scott

  • 14 Preview Mend The Torn Pieces Of My Heart - Lorraine Chandler

  • 15 Preview Having Fun - The Bobbettes

  • 16 Preview Don't You Know A True Love (When You Find One) - Tony Mason

  • 17 Preview Crackin' Up Over You - Roy Hamilton

  • 18 Preview I'm Just A Man - The Insiders

  • 19 Preview I'm Leaving - Johnny Nash

  • 20 Preview Let The Music Play - Roy Hamilton

  • 21 Preview What Have I Done Wrong - Faye Crawford

  • 22 Preview Coming On Strong - Nancy Wilcox

  • 23 Preview It Didn't Take Much (For Me To Fall In Love) - Percy Wiggins

  • 24 Preview I'll Never Forget You - The Metros

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Guilty on all three counts, yr' honour.

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought