Shel's Girls - From The Planet Records Vaults Various Artists (Shel Talmy)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1554

Shel Talmy was the American maverick known for shepherding the visceral sound of groups like the Who, the Kinks and the Easybeats to the top of the British charts. Yet his production resume includes a brace of spirited female artists and some fabulous, state-of-the-art Brit girl sounds.

“Shel’s Girls” gathers together the best moments from Talmy’s girl recordings of the mid-60s, and adds several unheard gems from a recent extended foray into his remarkable archive.

Some of the featured acts were contracted with the producer’s short-lived label Planet Records, while others were leased to outside labels or made while Talmy was working as a staffer for Decca during his early days in the British music industry.

Artists such as schoolgirl trio the Orchids, big-voiced Belfast teen Perpetual Langley or Bond girl Dani Sheridan (mother of actress Nicolette Sheridan) will be familiar to aficionados. They are joined by the more obscure but no less worthy sounds of Liz Shelley, Van Lenton and Stevie Holly. The beat chick contingent is ably represented by Colette & the Bandits, Margo & the Marvettes and imported American stars Goldie & the Gingerbreads.

Most of the contents of “Shel’s Girls” derives from the golden Brit-girl era of 1964-1966, but the Motown-esque ‘Shoulder to Cry On’, from former Family Dogg-er Christine Holmes, dates from 1969. At the other end of the spectrum, Debbie Sharron’s teen weepie ‘Cruel Way To Be’ is a rare Hollywood production from 1962, just before Talmy departed for the UK.

“Shel’s Girls” comes with detailed notes and some eye-popping visuals on these fabulous females. File alongside “Love Hit Me”, “Scratch My Back” and other recent Ace explorations of the beat chick world.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview No More Love - Liz Shelley

  • 02 Preview Surrender - Perpetual Langley

  • 03 Preview Guess I'm Dumb - Dani Sheridan

  • 04 Preview Oo-Chang-A-Lang - The Orchids

  • 05 Preview You Don't Care - Van Lenton

  • 06 Preview Say You Will - Margo & The Marvettes

  • 07 Preview A Ladies Man (Alternate version) - Colette & The Bandits

  • 08 Preview Make Me Your Baby - Liz Shelley

  • 09 Preview Cruel Way To Be - Debbie Sharron

  • 10 Preview We Wanna Stay Home - Perpetual Langley

  • 11 Preview Songs Of Love - Dani Sheridan

  • 12 Preview Surrender - Plain & Fancy

  • 13 Preview A Shoulder To Cry On - Christine Holmes

  • 14 Preview Gonna Make Him Mine - The Orchids

  • 15 Preview Don't Forget - Sherri Weine

  • 16 Preview You Made Me Hurt - Liz Shelley

  • 17 Preview Gotta Get Away - Van Lenton

  • 18 Preview Grave Digger - Unknown beat girls

  • 19 Preview Two By Two - Perpetual Langley

  • 20 Preview A Strange World - Steve Holly

  • 21 Preview Stay At Home - The Orchids

  • 22 Preview This Heart Is Not For Sale - Margo & The Marvettes

  • 23 Preview Tar And Cement - Liz Shelley

  • 24 Preview So Sad - Perpetual Langley

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought