Teenage Crush Vol 5 Various Artists (Teenage Crush)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1145

There’s a little corner of Ace Records where it’s forever 1959, a parallel universe where the kids rush home from school, switch on the TV in the corner of the living room (no multi-set homes back then) and ogle the pop stars of the day miming to their latest and - more often than not - only hit on American Bandstand. Vietnam is half a decade away, the Beatles are still strumming cheap plywood guitars in Liverpool coffee bars and students dig jazz and folk while sneering contemptuously at pop music.

Don’t let anyone tell you it was better back then because it wasn’t, but here at Ace we’ve always had a soft spot for the teen ballads and angst-ridden pop which defined the innocence of that age and, judging from your response to previous volumes of TEENAGE CRUSH, many of you share this guilty pleasure. Please join us in celebrating the launch of this fifth volume in the series.

There are several reasons why we happen to believe that this may be the best “Teenage Crush” yet. Previously, we have mixed better known hits with harder-to-find items but this new volume contains a higher proportion of scarce and collectable Hot 100 one-offs than before. As many as 15 tunes are appearing on CD for the first time: Joanie by Frankie Calen, Biology by Danny Valentino, Paul Dino’s mildly eccentric Ginnie Bell, ’Deane Hawley’s Look For A Star, Bobby Hamilton’s long overlooked Crazy Eyes For You, Push Push by Austin Taylor (the original of Billy Fury’s UK hit) and Summer’s Comin’ by Kirby St Romain - actually his real name! - are just a few of the sought-after genre classics heard here for the first time.

The same careful attention to detail accorded to “The Golden Age of American Rock’n’Roll” by the compilers of that series, has been brought to bear on “Teenage Crush Vol 5”. Tracking down the original masters, contacting many of the artists, and locating the wealth of illustrations shoehorned into the glossy mega-booklet, occupied so many man hours, that our accountants laughingly told us we should charge £100 a time rather than the more modest sum you are likely to pay. State-of- the-art mastering and comprehensive notes round off a mighty fine package.

By Rob Finnis


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Push Push - Austin Taylor

  • 02 Preview Footsteps - Steve Lawrence

  • 03 Preview I Will - Vic Dana

  • 04 Preview Why Do I Love You So - Johnny Tillotson

  • 05 Preview Lullaby Of Love - Frank Gari

  • 06 Preview Ginnie Bell - Paul Dino

  • 07 Preview Young Lovers - Paul & Paula

  • 08 Preview Don't Wanna Think About Paula - Dickey Lee

  • 09 Preview Suddenly - Nicky DeMatteo

  • 10 Preview Donna The Prima Donna - Dion DiMucci

  • 11 Preview Crazy Eyes For You - Bobby Hamilton

  • 12 Preview Comin' Down With Love - Mel Gadson

  • 13 Preview Young And In Love - Dick & DeeDee

  • 14 Preview Joanie - Frankie Calen

  • 15 Preview A House, A Car And A Wedding Ring - Dale Hawkins

  • 16 Preview Summer's Comin' - Kirby St Romain

  • 17 Preview Sittin' In The Balcony - Johnny Dee

  • 18 Preview Tennessee Waltz - Jerry Fuller

  • 19 Preview Biology - Danny Valentino

  • 20 Preview Run, Run, Run - Ronny Douglas

  • 21 Preview Tell Him No - Dean & Marc

  • 22 Preview The Search - Dean Reed

  • 23 Preview Just Ask Your Heart - Frankie Avalon

  • 24 Preview Look For A Star - Deane Hawley

  • 25 Preview I'm Happy - The Four Dates

  • 26 Preview Summer Souvenirs - Karl Hammel Jr

  • 27 Preview Forget Me Not - The Kalin Twins

  • 28 Preview Love Or Money - The Blackwells

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Era fans will love it.

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought