The Ace Story Volume 3 Various Artists (Ace Mississippi)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1297

Even though we knew people wanted them, from the amount of letters and e-mails we got asking us to restore it them catalogue, we’re still pleased with the continuing sales and acclaim we’ve received for the expanded CD reissues of our “Ace Story” vinyl LPs. The appreciation for the two volumes that appeared in 2010 has showed us that there’s still a significant market for the kind of package upon which we built our reputation some 30 years ago.

Here on the third volume, the tracks that appeared on the original vinyl LP are joined by eight more goodies from the vault of Ace Records of Jackson, Mississippi, each selected to complement those originally chosen by Ted Carroll, Roger Armstrong and Ray Topping back in the early 1980s. Although nearly all of the featured tracks have been issued on CD at some point, most have been out of circulation for at least a decade and we’re mighty glad to restore them all to catalogue.

Johnny Vincent’s little label might have been based one state over, and a few hundred miles away, but there is no more consistent provider of the great New Orleans sound of the 1950s than Ace. The sheer exuberance of Huey Smith’s ‘Little Liza Jane’ and ‘Everybody’s Whalin’’ and the crackling excitement of Bobby Marchan’s ‘Loberta’ (finally heard here in mastertape quality for the first time in 52 years) sound as fresh today as they did when committed to tape. The sessions Vincent cut elsewhere on blues acts such as Mercy Baby and Frankie Lee Sims are just as vital now as they ever were. And even the tracks Johnny bought or leased in, represented by Jerry McCain and Sonny Boy Williamson II, have a quality that immediately identifies them as Ace.

John Vincent Imbragulio was one of the most astute A&R men of his time, with a vision matched only by the quality of his catalogue and the timeless hits that came out of it. For dancing or listening, there’s really no better way to have a good time than by slipping this compact disc into your player and, to coin a phrase from Earl King’s ‘Darling Honey Angel Child’, let the good times roll! By Tony Rounce

Track listing

Side 1

  • 01
    Boppin' With Sonny - Sonny Boy Williamson

  • 02
    Saturday Night Fish Fry - The Blue Dots

  • 03
    Everybody's Whalin' - Huey "Piano" Smith & His Clowns

  • 04
    Marked Deck - Mercy Baby

  • 05
    Snake Eyes - Alvin "Red" Tyler

  • 06
    I'm So Glad You're Mine - Albert Scott

  • 07
    Don't Take Your Love From Me - Bobby Marchan

  • 08
    Somebody Told It - Huey "Piano" Smith & His Clowns

  • 09
    Don't Leave Me Here To Cry - The Supremes

  • 10
    She's Tough - Jerry McCain

  • 11
    For Cryin' Out Loud - Huey "Piano" Smith & His Clowns

  • 12
    My Love For You - Junior Gordon

  • 13
    Sahara - Mac Rebennack

  • 14
    Cut It Out - Joe Tex

  • 15
    Rock And Roll Baby - Mercy Baby

  • 16
    Steady - Jerry McCain

  • 17
    Loberta - Bobby Marchan

  • 18
    You Don't Know - Harry Lee

  • 19
    Darling Honey Angel Child aka Come On aka Let The Good Times Roll - Earl King

  • 20
    Cheatin' Woman - Frankie Ford

  • 21
    I Kneel At Your Throne - The Emeralds

  • 22
    Foolish Little Girl - Mac Rebennack

  • 23
    What Will Lucy Do aka Lucy Mae Blues - Frankie Lee Sims

  • 24
    Little Liza Jane - Huey "Piano" Smith & His Clowns

Delivery & Returns

We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews

comments powered by Disqus

Press quotes

Hits the button every time. ★★★★

Record Collector

Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought

© Ace records 2012-2016