The Golden Age Of American Popular Music: The Folk Hits Various Artists (Golden Age of American Popular Music)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1175

The new volume in Ace’s Golden Age of American Popular Music series, THE FOLK HITS is a compendium of just about every folk hit to reach Billboard’s Hot 100 (and a couple that ‘bubbled under’) during the so-called Golden Age when folk music was regarded as a form of light entertainment rather than a means of political or personal expression.

The era kicked off when the Kingston Trio topped the international charts with Tom Dooley in 1958 and reached its commercial peak in the summer of 1963, before fading in the aftermath of President Kennedy’s assassination in November. Some argue that ‘Tom Dooley’ was as important a record as ‘Heartbreak Hotel’ or ‘I Want To Hold Your Hand’ in that it heralded an entirely new phase in popular music and profoundly influenced the music of the 60s.

Pretty soon, every major label (and some minor ones too) had a folk group on its books. Some, like the Brothers Four and the Highwaymen, were college kids who’d turned professional, while others such as the Limeliters and Bud & Travis were older, more experienced pros. Whereas 50s rock’n’roll was seen by many parents as a malign influence on American Youth, folk music in the Tom Dooley age was perceived as having a greater cultural validity and young men and women were positively encouraged to take up the guitar or banjo and ‘sing out’.

Record companies attempted to break their folk acts through hit singles, hoping to stimulate sales in the lucrative album market and create career longevity for the artist. By the early 60s folk music had become big business and when TV took an interest, it became a national obsession. While some artists became radicalised, many others stayed apolitical and sought merely to entertain. For a time, the boundaries between folk and other styles became blurred by commercial imperatives. Story-song country records such as Big Bad John and El Paso became big pop hits in the wake of Tom Dooley. Even Johnny Cash (heard here with It Ain’t Me Babe, his first UK hit) hovered uneasily between country and folk for a brief period, appearing alongside the Brothers Four in a no-budget exploitation movie titled Hootenanny and cutting folk themed albums such as “Bitter Tears”.

Here then are the hits of the folk era assembled for the first time on one CD from the best possible sources. As well as all the major hits, such as Green Green, are several tunes that have never, or only very rarely, appeared on CD before, including Ballad of The Alamo by Bud & Travis (in stereo) and Stranger In Your Town by the Shacklefords, a studio group assembled by Lee Hazlewood whose song/production it was. Fans of Hazlewood’s laconic style will immediately detect his lugubrious baritone and style. The Highwaymen’s Michael and Cottonfields have not been available on CD for over a decade and are heard here in stereo. Also unavailable for some time, Billy Edd Wheeler’s quirky Ode To A Little Brown Shack Out Back, a privately recorded live performance, that made it halfway up the Hot 100 in 1964 to become the only hit record eulogising an outside privy. The Kingston Trio’s four best known hits are presented here as the most representative sample of their work. At their peak they were so popular that 20 percent of Capitol’s profits were generated by the Trio’s records. And they were every bit as good as their place in history would suggest. Peter, Paul & Mary’s If I Had A Hammer appears on a compilation for the first time.

The humungous 32-page booklet contains a magnificent essay following the development of the post-war folk scene and details of each record featured on the compilation together with many rare ads and photos from an era so affectionately spoofed in the movie A Mighty Wind. It’ll have you a-hummin and a-strummin’!

By Rob Finnis

Click here for information on the Golden Age of American Rock'n'Roll Series


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Walk Right In - The Rooftop Singers

  • 02 Preview If I Had A Hammer - Peter, Paul & Mary

  • 03 Preview Where Have All The Flowers Gone - The Kingston Trio

  • 04 Preview Green, Green - The New Christy Minstrels

  • 05 Preview It Ain't Me, Babe - Johnny Cash

  • 06 Preview Michael - The Highwaymen

  • 07 Preview We Shall Overcome - Joan Baez

  • 08 Preview Greenback Dollar - The Kingston Trio

  • 09 Preview A Stranger In Your Town - The Shacklefords

  • 10 Preview Winkin', Blinkin' And Nod - The Simon Sisters

  • 11 Preview Ballad Of The Alamo - Bud & Travis

  • 12 Preview Tom Dooley - The Kingston Trio

  • 13 Preview A Dollar Down - The Limeliters

  • 14 Preview Greenfields - The Brothers Four

  • 15 Preview Silver Threads And Golden Needles - The Springfields

  • 16 Preview We'll Sing In The Sunshine - Gale Garnett

  • 17 Preview Hootenanny - The Glencoves

  • 18 Preview Don't Let The Rain Come Down - The Serendipity Singers

  • 19 Preview Reverend Mr Black - The Kingston Trio

  • 20 Preview Please Don't Sell My Daddy No More Wine - The Greenwoods

  • 21 Preview Lizzie Borden - The Chad Mitchell Trio

  • 22 Preview Ode To The Little Brown Shack Out Back - Billy Edd Wheeler

  • 23 Preview Cotton Fields - The Highwaymen

  • 24 Preview There's A Meetin' Here Tonite - Joe & Eddie

  • 25 Preview Tom Cat - The Rooftop Singers

  • 26 Preview Summer's Come And Gone - The Brandywine Singers

  • 27 Preview Little Boxes - Pete Seeger

  • 28 Preview The Unicorn - The Irish Rovers

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought