The Goldwax Story Volume 2 Various Artists (Goldwax)


Southern Soul
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
The Goldwax Story Volume 2 (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

FOR MANY SOUTHERN soul fans Goldwax was the Memphis label from the Golden Age. Although only around 60 singles were issued between 1964 and late 1969, when the concern closed its doors, pound for pound the quality was almost unparalleled. Owners Quinton Claunch and Rudolph Doc" Russell specialised in heavyweight music, with their country roots forming a potent hybrid with the gospel-based singers they recorded. This compilation, with its mixture of classics and rarities, follows on from the highly successful first volume Kent released a couple of years ago. If anything it contains more of the ballad wizardry that has made the Goldwax name such a fabled one."

The jewel in the Goldwax crown was undoubtedly the dark, rich baritone vocals of James Carr - the subject of three individual Ace CDs in this series - whose subtlety of phrasing and nuances of expression produced many a deep soul masterpiece. His cut here is a rare mix of one of his typical 6/8 tempo, country, soul gems, A Woman Is A Man's Best Friend, which was previously only available in Japan in this version.

But the label was far from a one trick pony - there were several other artists who cut for Goldwax whose places in the soul pantheon are assured. Take Spencer Wiggins for example, whose impassioned pleadings have made him a cult hero. His version of Aretha's I Never Loved A Man, with the genders reversed, is one of his best-ever performances, with the screw tightened even further by the super-charged whine of Duane Skydog" Allman's slide guitar egging him on. Or what about O V Wright, the Boss of Southern Soul, who made a brief visit to Goldwax at the start of his illustrious secular career. His track, the chugging There Goes My Used To Be, only confirms his stature. Louis Williams, lead singer with Ovations who sadly died recently, deserves to be mentioned in this company as well. His uncanny Sam Cooke-styled vocals never fail to lift the spirits and his two tracks here are both fine examples of his art.

Other highlights on the CD include the hard, bluesy style of Dorothy Williams - Eddie Jefferson's classic, deep, When You Look In The Mirror and three wonderful Percy Milem songs - especially the tender ballad Crying Baby Baby Baby, which is simply one of the best songs ever put out by the company. A particular treat is the inclusion of a couple of numbers by the late O B McClinton, who not only penned some great material for James Carr, but went on to a unique career as a black country performer.

For the anoraks, there are a couple of previously unissued tracks apiece by Barbara Perry and the underrated Wee Willie Walker, whose Goldwax recordings both on the label and leased out to Chess are perhaps definitive of Claunch and Russell's output. They never owned a recording studio, preferring to use the cream of the local facilities, as well as taking the occasional foray down to Fame in Muscle Shoals. The roll-call of the musicians on these recordings would read like a Who's Who of the profession-.-they take centre stage in the only instrumental here under the leadership of the late Gene "Bowlegs" Miller.

The music is superbly enhanced by some fascinating reminiscences from Claunch himself on the artists and songs on the CD courtesy of researcher Colin Dilnot. The CD shows yet again just why the name Goldwax makes the heart beat a little faster - and why the sight of that gold/yellow logo spinning on a turntable was such a potent one"



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I Never Loved A Woman (The Way I Love You) - Spencer Wiggins

  • 02 Preview Crying Baby Baby Baby - Percy Milem

  • 03 Preview I Don't Want To Take A Chance - 'Wee' Willie Walker

  • 04 Preview Welcome Home Baby - Barbara Perry

  • 05 Preview Peace Of Mind - The Ovations feat Louis Williams

  • 06 Preview When You Look In The Mirror - Eddie Jefferson

  • 07 Preview It's My Life - Timmy Thomas

  • 08 Preview I Ain't Gonna Cheat On You No More - Wee Willie Walker

  • 09 Preview Say You Need It - Barbara Perry

  • 10 Preview Toddlin' - Gene 'Bowlegs' Miller

  • 11 Preview Good Times - George & Greer

  • 12 Preview Country Style - Dorothy Williams

  • 13 Preview Love Me - Phillip & the Faithfuls

  • 14 Preview She's Better Than You - Oboe with The Keys

  • 15 Preview I Don't Know What You've Got (But It's Got Me) - Percy Milem

  • 16 Preview Happiness - The Ovations

  • 17 Preview Merry Go Round Of Love - Barbara Perry

  • 18 Preview A Woman Is A Man's Best Friend - James Carr

  • 19 Preview There Goes My Used To Be - O.V. Wright with The Keys

  • 20 Preview The Side Wind - The Lyrics with the Top Notes

  • 21 Preview Darling - The Vel Tones

  • 22 Preview I'm Crying Over You - Percy Milem

  • 23 Preview If You're Not With The One You Love - Unknown Artist

  • 24 Preview A Man Needs A Woman - O B McClinton

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Country tinged soul treats. ★★★★


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought