The John Fahey Tribute Album: The Revenge Of Blind Joe Death Various Artists (Artist Anthologies)


Catalogue Id:
CDTAK 1048

It’s now five years since John Fahey died at the age of 61. REVENGE OF BLIND JOE DEATH - THE JOHN FAHEY TRIBUTE ALBUM is an overdue accolade to a guitarist who revolutionised the instrument by exploring its roots in early 20th Century American music. Unlike many other inferior tribute albums that clog up the CD market, all of the musicians involved in this project are up to the challenge of paying a genuine homage to a musical icon of Fahey’s stature. Many of them are performers who made their own début recordings for Fahey’s Takoma label: George Winston, Peter Lang and Michael Gulezian, among them. Others come from the ranks of musical aggregations like Canned Heat, Country Joe & The Fish and Beausoleil, all bands that have reinforced and slightly skewed traditional music to their own vision in much the same way as have John Fahey’s remarkable guitar explorations. What is most noticeable in all of the performances here is how each of them is alive with John’s spirit. Each musician’s conception is totally his own but John Fahey’s legacy seems to inhabit every tune (and this is not simply because the majority are either composed by or have a close association with him).

The programming is excellent too. Dale Miller’s precise but spirited fingerpicking opens the disc with Sunflower River Blues to be followed by George Winston’s fantastic solo harmonica vehicle Sally Goodin. The grossly under-rated Charlie Schmidt is an acoustic guitar revelation on Desperate Man Blues: ditto for Nick Schillace on Red Pony. Canned Fish brings together Fito de la Parra and Larry Taylor from Canned Heat with The Fish’s Barry Melton plus Phil Kellogg, Henry Kaiser and Mark Hummel. The resulting Dance Of The Inhabitants Of The Palace Of King Phillip X1V of Spain brings into close proximity Melton’s acid-rock electric guitar lines and Hummel’s heated blues harmonica. Thinking Of John Fahey is a reflective slide guitar instrumental by Country Joe McDonald. Peter Lang’s In Christ There Is No East Or West is a breakneck version of one of John’s finest melodic tunes. All of the 20 performances are of the same high standard, are beautifully recorded and the package comes with an exemplary booklet stuffed with sleevenotes, photographs and track details. Arguably, this is the best tribute album since “Avalon Blues”, Vanguard’s testimonial to the enduring legacy of Mississippi John Hurt.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Sunflower River Blues - Dale Miller

  • 02 Preview Sally Goodin - George Winston

  • 03 Preview St Louis Blues - Michael Gulezian

  • 04 Preview The Alligator Walks Sideways On Sundays - Alex De Grassi

  • 05 Preview Desperate Man Blues - Charlie Schmidt

  • 06 Preview Dance Of The Inhabitants Of The Palace Of King Phillip XIV Of Spain - Canned Fish

  • 07 Preview Sun Gonna Shine On My Mardi Gras - David Doucet

  • 08 Preview Thinking Of John Fahey - Country Joe McDonald

  • 09 Preview In Christ There Is No East Or West - Peter Lang

  • 10 Preview Joe Kirby Blues - Terry Robb

  • 11 Preview The Yellow Princess - Sean Smith

  • 12 Preview Steamboat Gwine 'Round The Bend/How Green Was My Valley - Henry Kaiser & John Schott

  • 13 Preview Red Pony - Nick Schillace

  • 14 Preview Assassination of John Fahey - Stefan Grossman

  • 15 Preview & 50 Cents Gets You A Cup Of Coffee - Rick Ruskin

  • 16 Preview Requiem For John Fahey - Phil Kellogg

  • 17 Preview Days Have Gone By In The Halls Of Valhalla - Andrew Stranglen

  • 18 Preview On The Banks Of The Owchita - Nels Cline with Elliott Sharp

  • 19 Preview Jesus Is A Dying-Bed Maker - Pat O'Connell

  • 20 Preview John Henry - Blind Joe Death

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought