The London American Label Year By Year: 1962 Various Artists (London American)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1265

Our series devoted to preserving the legacy of the London American label moves ever forward (before it starts to move backwards – see below) as we find ourselves arriving at 1962. Not always regarded as a vintage year for music – somewhat unfairly perhaps – ’62 offered a diversity of sounds and styles that acknowledged previous years and anticipated new developments in American music, such as the emergent sound of soul. London’s releases in ’62 demonstrated that the USA still led where other followed, as it would for the foreseeable future. (At least, that was how it looked as the year dawned.)

As ever, we’ve gone to great lengths to chronicle a year in the life of London American without using more than a handful of tracks that are already available on Ace CD. Even without them we still had a wealth of fantastic, often highly eclectic repertoire from which to choose. Those who make buying Ace CDs a habit will be glad to note that most of the cuts are new to the label. In keeping with our promise to bring you the music exactly as you heard it on London, we have been able to utilise original tapes from the Decca vaults on 22 of the 28 tracks, all of which are presented in 100% guaranteed mono, just as they were 48 years ago.

For London, ’62 was the year when the label said goodbye to Liberty and hello to Philles, replacing at a stroke one source of important repertoire with another. London also still had the likes of Atlantic, Dot, Monument and Big Top to keep the hits coming and a not unreasonable 33 of its 166 single releases in 1962 made the UK Top 40. Seven of those came to rest at #2 on our charts.

As with previous volumes, you’ll find London’s big guns well represented (Fats Domino, Del Shannon, Roy Orbison, Pat Boone, Jerry Lee Lewis, the Coasters) as well as new names whose greatest fame was still ahead of them (Charlie Rich, Carole King) and some whose greatest fame was behind them. There are also a number of the typical oddities and rarities that make London so beloved of those who collect it (Lloyd George, Dennis Turner) and some huge US hits that didn’t even dent our charts. Together they show that the label still had little to fear from the winds of change that would soon blow through pop from a seaport on England’s west coast.

The next volume of “The London American Label Year By Year” will be later this year. For that we will backtrack to 1959, with 1958 and 1963 following in 2011. The series has done just what we hoped it would by provoking healthy discussion among long-time collectors and bringing back nostalgic memories for those of us whose love of the label will never flag (no matter how many Roger Williams singles it may have released during its lifetime).

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview (Ain't That) Just Like Me - The Coasters

  • 02 Preview The Loco-Motion - Little Eva

  • 03 Preview A Certain Girl - Ernie K-Doe

  • 04 Preview I've Been Twistin' - Jerry Lee Lewis

  • 05 Preview He's Old Enough To Know Better - The Crickets

  • 06 Preview The Crowd - Roy Orbison

  • 07 Preview The Swiss Maid - Del Shannon

  • 08 Preview Big Big Love - Carol Connors

  • 09 Preview Stranger On The Shore - The Drifters

  • 10 Preview Green Onions - Booker T & The MGs

  • 11 Preview Pretty Suzy Sunshine - Larry Finnegan

  • 12 Preview Here It Comes Again - The Chantels

  • 13 Preview What'd I Say - Bobby Darin

  • 14 Preview Ecstasy - Ben E King

  • 15 Preview But Not For Me - Ketty Lester

  • 16 Preview Monster Mash - Bobby (Boris) Pickett And The Crypt-Kickers

  • 17 Preview Just A Little Bit Sweet - Charlie Rich

  • 18 Preview Drums Are My Beat - Sandy Nelson

  • 19 Preview I'll Wait Forever - Anita Wood

  • 20 Preview Jambalaya (On The Bayou) - Fats Domino

  • 21 Preview Blues (Stay Away From Me) - Ace Cannon

  • 22 Preview She's A Troublemaker - The Majors

  • 23 Preview Lucy Lee - Lloyd George

  • 24 Preview Pretty Baby - Charlie Gracie

  • 25 Preview Shutters And Boards - Jerry Wallace

  • 26 Preview Speedy Gonzales - Pat Boone

  • 27 Preview Lover Please - Dennis Turner

  • 28 Preview It Might As Well Rain Until September - Carole King

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought