The Newport Folk Festival: 1963 Various Artists (Newport Folk Festival)


Catalogue Id:
VCD 77002

Along with “Newport Broadside” (also available from Ace), this collection documents some of the key moments of the famed Newport Folk Festival of 1963. While “Newport Broadside” concentrates on politically important moments of that year, “The Evening Concerts” presents more of the wide variety of the music that made up the festival. It is important to stress just how important the festival quickly became to the US folk world in the few short years since its start in 1959. The scene then was primarily centred on the main towns and cities of the East: New York, Cambridge, Philadelphia and Boston. The Newport Folk Festival rapidly became the key event of the year: a place to showcase significant singers and groups, and for music business insiders to congregate. Managers, promoters, writers and scene-makers all gathered to make deals, catch new acts and discuss trends among the 37,000 folk fans who turned out for what was the biggest bash on Rhode Island so far. It was an accolade for any artist to receive an invitation to perform at the festival, which was run by a board that included key performers from the folk world.

The evening concerts on the various stages were perhaps the most enjoyable and anticipated, featuring as they did the biggest acts. This compilation captures firsthand the enthusiasm and feel of the evenings, and the close relationship between artists and audience. Sam Hinton, a semi-professional West-Coaster, opens proceedings with the lighter side of folk in the form of ‘The Barnyard Song’, the lullaby ‘Must I Go Bound’ and the humorous ‘The Arkansas Traveller’, which describes the timed-honoured story of a city slicker being outwitted. Bluesman Mississippi John Hurt follows with four traditional songs not always associated with the blues, showing off some fine finger-picking. Jack Elliott also displays guitar skills on the story of ‘Diamond Joe’ and his lawless cowboy world. The Rooftop Singers sing their recent hit ‘Walk Right In’, a remake of a bawdy old house song that introduced the 12-string guitar to a much wider audience. The popular Canadian duo Ian & Sylvia bring gentle cross-border influences to the table with the French language ‘Un Canadian Errant’, before we are reminded of the political activism of folk via the Freedom Singers’ a cappella ‘Woke Up This Morning’, one of the most popular new freedom songs. Festival favourite Joan Baez follows with ‘Oh Freedom’, two Portuguese love songs and well-known ballad ‘Wagoner’s Lad’. Along with other performers she then joins Bob Dylan on ‘Blowin’ In The Wind’, a recent major hit for him that received a huge reaction from the crowd. The Freedom Singers return to lead everyone on the anthemic ‘We Shall Overcome’.

Some would say you had to be there; with this great CD you can be.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview The Barnyard Song - Sam Hinton

  • 02 Preview Must I Go Bound - Sam Hinton

  • 03 Preview The Arkansas Traveller - Sam Hinton

  • 04 Preview See See Rider And Introduction - Mississippi John Hurt

  • 05 Preview Stagolee - Mississippi John Hurt

  • 06 Preview Spike Driver Blues - Mississippi John Hurt

  • 07 Preview Coffee Blues - Mississippi John Hurt

  • 08 Preview Diamond Joe And Introduction - Jack Elliot

  • 09 Preview Walk Right In And Introduction - The Rooftop Singers

  • 10 Preview Un Canadien Errant - Ian & Sylvia

  • 11 Preview Woke Up This Morning And Introduction - The Freedom Singers

  • 12 Preview Oh Freedom And Introduction - Joan Baez

  • 13 Preview Te Ador/Ate Amanha - Joan Baez

  • 14 Preview Wagoner's Lad - Joan Baez

  • 15 Preview Blowin' In The Wind And Introduction (Medley) - Bob Dylan

  • 16 Preview We Shall Overcome - The Freedom Singers

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought