The World Needs Changing Various Artists (BGP Various)


Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
The World Needs Changing (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

The world needs changing? Well, we’re pretty sure it already has, and one of those changes is that we’re not quite as likely to release a various artists compilation on BGP as we used to. In-depth looks at some of our favourite artists are more the order of the day. Fortunately for those of you who like multi-artist collections, we’re sending a couple your way in the next two months, starting off with this wonderful look at black American music from the late 60s to the mid-1970s – basically from the start of funk to the rise of disco.

The music within brings together a cross section of great sounds that would grace – and in many cases already have – any DJ’s record box. Take Little Eva, whose medley of ‘Get Ready / Uptight’ was championed by Eddie Piller at Snowboy’s Goodfoot Night at Madam Jo Jo’s and is now a clubland staple. Willard Posey’s medley was a big Keb Darge spin at the same venue a decade earlier, whilst Esther Marrow’s wondrous vocal version of ‘Walk Tall’ has for a long time been one of my DJ secret weapons.

Some of our tunes haven’t really made it onto club playlists as they are too rare or simply unreleased. Hank Jacobs and Don Malone provide our title track, for many years an unheard release on the Call Me label. Huck Daniels’ creations are rarer than hen’s teeth, while Tina Bryant and George Jackson give us two previously unreleased cuts recorded at Fame’s short-lived Memphis-based studio. Elaine Armstrong, with the forceful ‘That’s The Way It Goes’, and Melvin Sparks conclude the tunes you will never have heard before.

There is some great funky soul from Cesar 830, Gil Scott-Heron and Darrow Fletcher with ‘Now Is The Time For Love’, one of his most underrated numbers. Lonnie Liston Smith’s ‘Expansions’ is well-known, but how often do you get to hear the crisp and succinct 7-inch version? Lonnie’s label Flying Dutchman tried to repeat his success with others and one of the best attempts, Brenda Jones and Groove Holmes’ ‘This Is The Me Me (Not The You You)’, is included here.

We’ve also got some fantastic instrumentals – or almost instrumentals – from jazz saxophonist Harold Alexander, Joe Savage and the Soul People and Funk Brother Johnny Griffith. Alexander’s break-beat heavy ‘Mama Soul’ is an explosive groove topped by some vibrant flute playing. Producer Bob Thiele’s group Emergency open things up with the filmic ‘Head Start’.

I’d like to say it’s all housed in the best sleeve we’ve done for a while, but that would be to do a disservice to our other recent releases, so let’s just say that this is just as good. I think you’ll be glad to have a new BGP comp in your home.


By Dean Rudland


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Head Start - Bob Thiele Emergency

  • 02 Preview All Power To The People Pt 1 - Joe Savage & The Soul People

  • 03 Preview The World Needs Changin' - Hank Jacobs & Don Malone

  • 04 Preview Just In Time To See The Sun - Leon Thomas

  • 05 Preview See Saw Affair - Cesar

  • 06 Preview Now Is The Time For Love Pt 1 - Darrow Fletcher

  • 07 Preview Free Will (Alt take 1) - Gil Scott-Heron

  • 08 Preview Walk Tall - Esther Marrow

  • 09 Preview Get Ready / Uptight - Little Eva Harris

  • 10 Preview Cissy Strut-n-American Woman - The Willard Posey Reunion

  • 11 Preview Soul Patrol - The Original Soul Patrol

  • 12 Preview Do It (Instrumental) - Johnny Griffith acc by Billy Sha-Rae's Band

  • 13 Preview Love Hijacker (Inst) - George Jackson

  • 14 Preview Expansions (7" edit) - Lonnie Liston Smith

  • 15 Preview This Is The Me Me (Not The You You) - Brenda Jones with Groove Holmes

  • 16 Preview Mr Perfect - Tina Bryant

  • 17 Preview That's The Way It Goes - Elaine Armstrong

  • 18 Preview Mama Soul - Harold Alexander

  • 19 Preview Rudypoot - Huck & The Soul Patrol

  • 20 Preview Love Tones - Melvin Sparks

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A great compilation of little-known US grooves. ★★★★



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought