This Is Lowrider Soul Various Artists (Lowrider Soul)


Lowrider Soul
Catalogue Id:

Sweet soulful sounds from the golden age – as adored in the clubs and classic automobiles of Southern California.

The Mexican, Central and South American immigrants who settled around east Los Angeles have long had an affinity for soul love ballads (aka slow jams). In recent times the scene they and their descendants initiated has intensified and spread to soul fans and collectors around the world, especially those already sympathetic to the music and intrigued by titles that were finding favour among the hip lowrider set.

The lowrider tag comes from the love of classic US automobiles which members of the scene customise to cruise the city streets. Sean Hampsey – DJ, promoter and owner of the UK’s Diggin’ Deep soul label – has teamed up with lowrider authority Ruben Molina to create Kent’s tribute to this style of music. In addition to writing The Old Barrio Guide To Lowrider Music, Ruben works with colleagues Arlene and Josh in the Southern Soul Spinners DJ team around their Southern California heartland. The SSS have also contributed titles and spirit to this compilation.

Spanning the years 1962 to 1970, the music here moves from the doo wop sound of the Vows to sweet soul harmony ballads such as the Four Tees’ ‘One More Chance’. Lowrider classics are provided by the Whispers, Barbara Mason, the Ambassadors, Brenton Wood and Lee Williams & the Cymbals, most of which are already quite well known in Europe. Brenton Wood in particular has an amazing knack of producing just the right type of music for the lowrider scene.

More esoteric picks are provided by the Endeavors, Aesop’s Fables, Jimmy Conwell and the Interpreters. We suggested some previously unreleased masters to the selectors, who were knocked out to include Melvin Hicks’ ‘I’m Just Passing Time’ and the Lovers’ Bay Area-recorded ‘When You’re Poor’; their inclusion here has caused a buzz on both sides of the Atlantic.

Other highlights are brilliant but not widely known titles by William Bell (backed by the Astors), the Lovelles, Jeff Dale and the Attractions. The Charmels, Webs and Reuben Bell tracks have become hot items among the European collecting fraternity in recent years, with the rapidly rising price tags that go with that. All in all, this release is destined to be appreciated by lovers of all types of black music, particularly those with an ear for a beautiful soul ballad.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Take A Step - Aesop's Fables

  • 02 Preview Why'd You Put Me On - Bobbi Row & The Englishmen

  • 03 Preview I Wanna Chance - The Vows

  • 04 Preview Where Were You - Brenton Wood

  • 05 Preview Second Hand Happiness - Jimmy Conwell

  • 06 Preview Til You Come Back To Me - Lee Williams & The Cymbals

  • 07 Preview Oh, How It Hurts - Barbara Mason

  • 08 Preview I Really Love You - The Ambassadors

  • 09 Preview As I Sit Here - The Whispers

  • 10 Preview One More Chance - The Four Tees

  • 11 Preview No Doubt About It - The Esquires

  • 12 Preview It's Not That Easy - Reuben Bell with The Casanovas

  • 13 Preview It's So Hard To Break A Habit - The Webs

  • 14 Preview Pretending Dear - The Lovelles

  • 15 Preview Find Me - The Attractions

  • 16 Preview Shattered Dreams - The Endeavors

  • 17 Preview Be Kind To Love - The Interpreters

  • 18 Preview When You're Poor - The Lovers

  • 19 Preview Never Gonna Let Him Know - Debbie Taylor & The 4 Hesitations

  • 20 Preview As Long As I've Got You - The Charmels

  • 21 Preview Don't Forget About Me Baby - Jeff Dale

  • 22 Preview I'm A Lonely Man - Bobby Burn

  • 23 Preview Crying All By Myself - William Bell

  • 24 Preview I'm Just Passing Time - Melvin Hicks & The Versatiles

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought