Three Day Week - When The Lights Went Out 1972-1975 Various Artists (Saint Etienne)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1542

This product is also available in these versions:
Three Day Week - When The Lights Went Out 1972-1975, LP (£29.01)

Britain wasn't on its own in having a thoroughly miserable 1973: O Lucky Man! and Badlands both found a great year to premiere; Watergate brought America to a new low. But America didn't still have back-to-backs and outside bogs. Tens of thousands of Britons remained housed in wartime pre-fabs. The bright new colours of the post-war Festival of Britain and Harold Wilson's talk in the sixties of the “white heat of technology” now seemed very distant as strikes, inflation, and food and oil shortages laid Britain low. What had gone wrong? And what did pop music have to say about it?

This album (with perfect timing) soundtracks Britain on the brink of chaos. It includes lost masterpieces (Phil Cordell's Londonderry), gritty singles by the new names of the early seventies (Mungo Jerry's Open Up, David Essex's Stardust). and forgotten gems by some of the biggest names of the previous decade, now struggling to make themselves heard (the Kinks' When Work Is Over, the Troggs' I'm On Fire).

Sometimes the approach was tongue in cheek (the Strawbs' Part Of The Union), other times it was the sound of sheer frustration (Mike McGear's Kill), and occasionally it was angry enough to incur the wrath of special branch (Hawkwind's banned Urban Guerilla). Mostly the sound of these records evokes the feeling of nights in with only candles to light the house and TV closing down at 10pm: the empty spaces of Adam Faith's In Your Life; the fuzz guitar minimalism of Ricky Wilde's Hertfordshire Rock; Climax Chicago's alternative lifestyle-musing Mole On The Dole.

Compiled by Bob Stanley and Pete Wiggs, Three Day Week follows on from their highly acclaimed English Weather, Paris In The Spring and State Of The Union compilations. It amplifies the noise of a country which was still unable to forget the war, even as it watched the progressive post-war consensus disintegrating. We hear shrugs and cynicism, laughter through gritted teeth, melancholy, and a real anger that would rise to the surface with punk a few years later.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Part Of The Union - The Brothers

  • 02 Preview Ordinary Boy - Small Wonder

  • 03 Preview The Hertfordshire Rock - Ricky Wilde

  • 04 Preview When Work Is Over - The Kinks

  • 05 Preview Sailing - The Sutherland Bros Band

  • 06 Preview In Your Life - Adam Faith

  • 07 Preview Londonderry - Phil Cordell

  • 08 Preview Cut Loose - Stud Leather

  • 09 Preview I'm On Fire - The Troggs

  • 10 Preview Kill - Mike McGear

  • 11 Preview And The Fun Goes On - Lieutenant Pigeon

  • 12 Preview Open Up - Mungo Jerry

  • 13 Preview Rod - Matchbox

  • 14 Preview Urban Guerilla - Hawkwind

  • 15 Preview Homes Fit For Heroes - Edgar Broughton Band

  • 16 Preview Breathless - Bombadil

  • 17 Preview Why Am I Waiting - Robin Goodfellow

  • 18 Preview What Ruthy Said - Cockney Rebel

  • 19 Preview Clocks - Paul Brett

  • 20 Preview Mole On The Dole - Climax Chicago

  • 21 Preview I Feel So Down - Barracuda

  • 22 Preview Northern Soul Dancer - Wigan's Ovation

  • 23 Preview Don't Ride A Paula Pillion - Stavely Makepeace

  • 24 Preview War Against War - Pheon Bear

  • 25 Preview Roly Pin - Roly

  • 26 Preview Stardust - David Essex

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought