Tim Burgess & Bob Stanley Present TIM PEAKS - Songs For A Late-Night Diner Various Artists (Saint Etienne)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1555

This product is also available in these versions:
Tim Burgess & Bob Stanley Present TIM PEAKS - Songs For A Late-Night Diner, LP (£29.01)

The Pacific North West and the English North West are damp, mossy, riddled with steep, unexpected valleys, dotted with abandoned mills, and frequently cloaked in mist. Most of the year you’d be wise to wear waterproofs. David Lynch set Twin Peaks in the former; it’s not a great leap to imagine it being re-cast and set in the latter. As for the soundtrack? Well, that’s what this album is about.

Charlatans singer Tim Burgess and Saint Etienne’s Bob Stanley have known each for three decades now. Aside from a shared love of Factory Records and the Fall, they both consider Twin Peaks to be the greatest TV show ever. They also share a love of cafes, but Tim has gone the extra mile and set up the Tim Peaks Diner, a huge draw at festivals, combining tea, coffee and music. This, then, is a soundtrack for the Tim Peaks Diner after dusk - put a couple of quid in the jukebox and the plangent guitars of Durutti Column, Dean McPhee and Galaxie 500 colour the air.

Included here are rare recordings on Factory Records (Stockholm Monsters, the Royal Family & The Poor), and groups that appeared in the wake of The Fall (Blue Orchids, the Fates); from South Wales there are minimal miniatures by Young Marble Giants and the Gist, as well as Gwenno’s ice crystal electronica. Not that the music needs to originate from Britain at all – there are tracks here from Sweden (El Perro Del Mar), New Zealand  (The Chills) and the US too (Chastity Belt).  

Compiled by Tim Burgess and Bob Stanley, this is the soundtrack to the Tim Peaks Diner after the sun’s gone down, and it contains some of the most beautiful and atmospheric independent music made in the last forty years. Outside, the mists are rising and the rain is falling; inside, the coffee is hot and the music perfectly matches the mood.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Choci Loni - Young Marble Giants

  • 02 Preview House With A Hundred Rooms - The Chills

  • 03 Preview Lips That Would Kiss (Form Prayers To Broken Stone) - Durutti Column

  • 04 Preview Yanks - The Gist

  • 05 Preview Hunros (A Dream) - Gwenno

  • 06 Preview I Had To Say This - The Clientele

  • 07 Preview I Love You (Restrained In A Moment) - The Royal Family &The Poor

  • 08 Preview Betty's Lament - Isan

  • 09 Preview Slow Motion - Jane Weaver

  • 10 Preview Fuel - Echo & The Bunnymen

  • 11 Preview Flowers - Galaxie 500

  • 12 Preview The Broken Fall - Gnac

  • 13 Preview Blue Dress - Birdie

  • 14 Preview Dog - El Perro Del Mar

  • 15 Preview Fairy Tales - Stockholm Monsters

  • 16 Preview Different Now - Chastity Belt

  • 17 Preview A Year With No Head - Blue Orchids

  • 18 Preview Ten Years - Bracken

  • 19 Preview Sheila - She Beats In My Heart - The Fates

  • 20 Preview Sky Burial - Dean McPhee

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought