You Baby: Words & Music By P.F. Sloan And Steve Barri Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1264

Together with his writing partner Steve Barri, Phil (P.F.) Sloan effectively invented the concept of the self-contained singer-songwriter (as documented on “Here’s Where I Belong” CDWIKD 277). Sloan & Barri’s songbook was widely plundered for cover versions throughout the 60s and beyond. It’s this side of their work that makes up “You Baby”, the latest in Ace’s songwriters series.

Sloan & Barri’s partnership was forged by producer Lou Adler in 1963, though the guys had each already released a number of sides as performers for a variety of labels, with somewhat limited success. Playing off each other’s strengths, they instantly formed a great working relationship, with Sloan as the more experienced musician and Barri as the studio head. From their surf’n’turf beginnings through era-defining folk rock and beyond, “You Baby” maps out a brilliant and fascinating career path packed with pop standards.

While their best-known early numbers are hedonistic fun-in-the-sun anthems such as ‘Tell ’Em I’m Surfin’’ and ‘Summer Means Fun’, their remit was wide enough to encompass girl group influences in ‘You Say Pretty Words’ by Ramona King and the latin-tinged sounds of Betty Everett’s ‘Someday Soon’.

Meanwhile, they also had to contend with a furious release schedule of their own, recording under a wide variety of guises including the Fantastic Baggys and Philip & Stephan, not to mention their in-demand status as session guys, appearing as musicians or singing backups on many of the tracks compiled here.

Sloan had always been the more performance-oriented of the two and when folk rock hit it clearly affected his modus operandi more than Barri’s. The solo Sloan writing credit on hits such as ‘The Sins Of A Family’, ‘Let Me Be’, ‘Take Me For What I’m Worth’ and, of course, ‘Eve Of Destruction’ put a certain amount of strain on the duo.

Nevertheless, the years 1965 and 1966 were their most commercially successful. Joyous, euphoric pop still poured out of them. Perfect pop gems such as ‘Can I Get To Know You Better’, ‘You Baby’, ‘Where Were You When I Needed You’ and ‘I Found A Girl’ were all major successes and are all featured here.

Inevitably, it couldn’t last. The artistic and commercial pressure they were under – not to mention their increasingly divergent musical paths – forced a premature split. Steve Barri stepped in as replacement for the departing Lou Adler as staff producer at Dunhill, while Sloan’s burgeoning career as a singer-songwriter dissipated, though has recently undergone something of a renaissance.

This marvellous collection of classics and rarities should seal Sloan & Barri’s reputation as key chroniclers of their time.

By Harvey Williams


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Another Day, Another Heartache - The 5th Dimension

  • 02 Preview Can I Get To Know You Better - The Turtles

  • 03 Preview Take Me For What I'm Worth - The Searchers

  • 04 Preview Where Were You When I Needed You - The Grass Roots

  • 05 Preview Kick That Little Foot Sally Ann - Round Robin

  • 06 Preview You Baby - The Mamas & The Papas

  • 07 Preview You Say Pretty Words - Ramona King

  • 08 Preview (Here They Come) From All Over The World - Jan & Dean

  • 09 Preview Let Me Be - The Turtles

  • 10 Preview Summer Means Fun - Bruce & Terry

  • 11 Preview Meet Me Tonight Little Girl - Philip & Stephan

  • 12 Preview Please Don't Go - Yvonne Carroll

  • 13 Preview Goes To Show (Just How Wrong You Can Be) - Joey Paige

  • 14 Preview The Sh-Down Down Song (You Better Leave Him Alone) - The Ginger-Snaps featuring Dandee Dawson

  • 15 Preview A Must To Avoid - Herman's Hermits

  • 16 Preview Can't We Go Somewhere - Terry Black

  • 17 Preview I Found A Girl - Jan & Dean

  • 18 Preview Secret Agent Man - Mel Tormé

  • 19 Preview Someday Soon - Betty Everett

  • 20 Preview Tell 'Em I'm Surfin' - The Fantastic Baggys

  • 21 Preview You Sure Know How To Hurt Someone - Ann-Margret

  • 22 Preview Another Day, Another Heartache (Demo) - P.F. Sloan

  • 23 Preview On A Quiet Night - The Association

  • 24 Preview The Sins Of A Family - Murray The "K"

  • 25 Preview Eve Of Destruction - Barry McGuire

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought