You Got Yours! East Bay Garage 1965-1967 Various Artists (Nuggets From The Golden State)


Psych / Garage
Big Beat
Catalogue Id:

Directly across the Bay from San Francisco, in Alameda County, lies a thirty mile band of suburbia encompassing small cities like San Leandro, Hayward, Union City and Castro Valley, topped and tailed by Oakland and Fremont and linked by the winding thoroughfare of East 14th Street. A century ago, this was where a fledgling movie industry briefly considered making a home, before it discovered Hollywood to the south. And forty years ago, the East Bay brimmed with another 20th Century popular cultural phenomenon: the garage band. The ‘adult’ rock shenanigans of San Francisco’s hippie clique would have little impact in the clubs and dancehalls of this particular locale. Local teens demanded tough, danceable rock and soul: entertainment, not enlightenment.

Big Beat’s Nuggets From The Golden State series makes an overdue welcome return with YOU GOT YOURS!: EAST BAY GARAGE 1965-67. Returning to the regional themes espoused in earlier volumes, this power packed collection focuses on the East Bay mid-60s garage scene, one of the grungiest and most prolific in the Bay Area. It pays tribute not only to the hundreds of bands that populated the region, but also the scene’s enablers, like promoter Bill Quarry. This self-effacing man ran the legendary Rollarena in San Leandro, bringing Them to the venue for their first US show in 1966, and in short order also promoted the Yardbirds, Animals, Byrds, Paul Revere and many others, either at the Rollarena or as his confidence grew, bigger shows at venues like Oakland’s Auditorium and Coliseum. Most other parts of the country didn’t have such hit acts visit at all, let alone appear in a suburb of a major conurbation.

Naturally, Quarry booked a myriad local combos at his dances, inspiring local musicians with both the acts he brought to town, and the opportunity he gave them to show their wares. Be they the garage soul of the Spyders and US Male, the bright, British sounds of the Baytovens, Shillings and Peter Wheat & The Breadmen, or the droll Stonesy punk of the Harbinger Complex, Just Six and Soul Vendors, the East Bay bands had a distinct, decidedly blue-collar, flavour, and we’ve collected the best of them on “You Got Yours!”. Many of these tracks are acknowledged 60s punk classics, others are gems waiting to be discovered. There’s a healthy helping of unissued cuts, as well as a booklet jampacked with photos and memorabilia. The CD also acts as the audio soundtrack to a recent book by Bruce Tahlser of the US Male that documents the East Bay 60s rock scene (details at

By Alec Palao


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Waiting For You - The Baytovens

  • 02 Preview Baby What's New - Peter Wheat & The Breadmen

  • 03 Preview Tomorrow's Soul Sound - The Harbinger Complex

  • 04 Preview I'm Gonna Be Gone - The Just Six

  • 05 Preview It's Up To You - The Shillings

  • 06 Preview Her Heart Said No - The Blue Lite Conspiracy

  • 07 Preview My House - The Baytovens

  • 08 Preview You Got Yours - The US Male

  • 09 Preview Sometimes I Wonder - The Harbinger Complex

  • 10 Preview Bo Said - The Just Six

  • 11 Preview Humpty Dumpty - The Epics

  • 12 Preview You're Gonna Cry - The Donnybrookes

  • 13 Preview Who Stole The Batmobile - The Gotham City Crime Fighters

  • 14 Preview Not The Least Bit True - The Shillings

  • 15 Preview Get Out Of My Eye - The Soul Vendors

  • 16 Preview Luv Look Away - The Baytovens

  • 17 Preview Dynosaur - The Flintrocks

  • 18 Preview I'm Feelin' Good - The Bristol Boxkite

  • 19 Preview You're Takin' Hold Of Me - The Immediate Family

  • 20 Preview Away Girl - The Towaway Zone

  • 21 Preview Gotta Find A New Love - The Spyders

  • 22 Preview Look At The Sun - The Gants

  • 23 Preview Such A Fool - The Baytovens

  • 24 Preview Where I Belong - The Daytrippers

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Essential for many. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought