Birth Of Soul - Los Angeles Special Various Artists (Birth of Soul)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Birth Of Soul - Los Angeles Special (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

The doo wop, gospel, blues, girl group and ballad scenes of Los Angeles fused to make it one major soul city.

Ace has very strong links with Los Angeles labels such as Modern, Combo, Flash, Flip, Mirwood, Money, Doré and Era, most of which had notable soul singles in their catalogues. Couple that with our many licensing deals of music made in that city and it is safe to say Los Angeles is just about our main area of expertise.

Those labels provide the bulk of tracks on this early 60s compilation. The recent licensing of George Semper’s music provides the Mandarins’ big city soul collectors’ item ‘That Other Guy’, as well as a previously unissued vocal group version of his popular song ‘You Better Watch Out Girl’ by the Imperialites. Gary S Paxton’s large and mixed stash of tapes included a goldmine of black music gems from soul’s first stirrings. Richard and Dorothy Berry were very involved in the LA scene and teamed up with Paxton in 1961; the obscure but pertinent Classicals, Don Wyatt and Joe Lover are also great examples of soul’s emergence. Another brilliant white songwriter-producer who loved black music was George Motola – his recordings of the Vows, Chesterfields and Sylvester Stewart are highlights.

H.B. Barnum has always been a major player in the city: his Little Star label was prolific in this period and we have included a duet by Dorothy Berry and Jimmy Norman, his two biggest solo stars. Other great LA names such as Arthur Wright, Bobby Day, Hal Davis and Ed Cobb are also involved. Kent Harris’ in-demand Phillips Sisters 45 ‘Let Me Be Your Little Dog’ features, as does another R&B gem, the Hank Graham-produced ‘Sneaking And Cheating’ by Esko Wallace who would go on to join the Exits and Visitors. Doo wop was a major part of the city’s music in the 50s and lingered longer than in most other regions. Tracks by the Wonders, Wilks & Wilkerson, the Composers and the Classicals were made around 1962 but will resonate with lovers of soul harmony of a later vintage.

The Spector sound is represented by the great Darlene Love, whose demo of ‘Let Him Walk Away’ is up there with her best released work from Gold Star studios. Future Motown star Brenda Holloway’s duet with Robert Jackson as the Soul-Mates shows her nascent talent, and young Sylvester “Sly” Stewart had a glittering career ahead of him. Tina Turner also did OK – her performance with husband Ike on ‘Lose My Cool’ is superb and still under-the-radar. There are six previously unissued tracks, including a Sam Cooke-style number from Billy Watkins cut at Modern, and Don Wyatt’s captivating beat ballad ‘But What About My Broken Heart’. The Rev-Lons go Detroit on ‘Whirlwind’, while Ray Appleberry and Bobby Swayne, aka Ray & Bob, take inspiration from the Chicago sound for the charming ‘Momma Told Me’.

We could have done a box set of the great music that came out of Los Angeles in these years – these are just two-dozen fascinating examples of how the city’s soul sound came about.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview But What About My Broken Heart - Don Wyatt

  • 02 Preview Trouble - The Chesterfields

  • 03 Preview Everybody's Got A Lover But Me - Richard Berry

  • 04 Preview You Better Watch Out Girl - The Imperialites

  • 05 Preview How About Me? - Billy Watkins

  • 06 Preview With These Hands (Alt vocal) - The Wonders

  • 07 Preview I Had A Dream - The Composers

  • 08 Preview I Want A Boyfriend (Girlfriend) - The Soul-Mates

  • 09 Preview Lose My Cool - Ike & Tina Turner

  • 10 Preview Let Me Be Your Little Dog - The Phillips Sisters

  • 11 Preview Whirlwind (Edit) - The Rev-Lons

  • 12 Preview Let Him Walk Away - Darlene Love

  • 13 Preview Have You Heard - The Vows

  • 14 Preview Help Me - The Classicals & The Rockets Band

  • 15 Preview Young Lover - Wilks & Wilkerson

  • 16 Preview Let's Go Home - Vic Granton

  • 17 Preview That Other Guy - The Mandarins featuring Jimmy Hayes

  • 18 Preview Mama Told Me - Ray & Bob

  • 19 Preview Help Me With My Broken Heart - Sylvester Stewart

  • 20 Preview Don't Drop It (That's My Love You've Got) - The Question Marks

  • 21 Preview Sneaking And Cheating - Esko Wallace

  • 22 Preview I'm With You All The Way - Dorothy Berry & Jimmy Norman

  • 23 Preview My Pillow - The Numbers

  • 24 Preview Don't Leave Me Baby - Joe Lover & The Gaylads Band

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought